Aloha!

Yippee!  The weekend is over.  That means I get a day off.  Hurray for me.  Now I just have to get my ass out of bed before 3:00 p.m. so I can do everything I want to do.

Since last week I’ve started taking Monday’s off.  I needed one day a week that I was sure to have off, so that I could make plans with friends, schedule appointments and just know that it was my day.  I picked Monday because it’s the slowest day of the week in the restaurant business.  I did not want to give up a day where I could actually make money.  So for the next several months I will always have Monday off.

I was talking to my friend Todd today on the phone.  We were playing catch up with each other because we had not talked in the last week or so.  During the conversation, I came to the realization that I should go to Hawaii.  Don’t get too excited, it’s not that extreme.  My friend Lee is there as I’ve mentioned in a couple of posts.  He’s there until the end of March.  He’s extended an invitation to me and said that I could stay with him.  My thought is:  When will I ever have the chance to go to Hawaii and not have to pay for a place to sleep?  My guess, never.  So I’ve started pricing tickets.  It’s only about 600 bucks for a round trip ticket.  I would fly to San Diego and have a couple of day to play there.  Then I would go on to Hawaii and would be there for five or six days.  Then I would fly back to San Diego and have another couple of days there and then fly home.  All told I would be gone around 10 days.  Not so bad and it would be fun as hell.  So tonight before I go to bed I’m going to call Lee and see if this is really something I can do.  Then I’m going to call my friend Lou because he travels for business and may be able to give me the trip to California with airline miles.  And then I’m going to break out the credit card, book a ticket and start packing.  I can hardly wait.

2 thoughts on “Aloha!

  1. Lemuel January 14, 2008 / 08:04

    I hope it all works out for you! Go for it! Don’t get to geezerdom and have as many things to regret (that you did not do when you had the chance) as a certain someone I see every morning in the mirror. 🙂

  2. urspo January 14, 2008 / 23:11

    that does sound grand – and if you are lonesome i can come too.

Leave a Reply

