Super-Secret Bars

Uh, oh!  I missed a night of blogging.  I’m  terribly sorry.  I’ll try to make up a day next week.

Tonight I did something I never do.  I went out with co-workers after work.  It’s really not so much of a big deal except that I don’t like most of them and I end up spending more money than I want.  Tonight was an exception in that I actually liked everyone who came out with us.  What was not an exception was how much money I spent.  I only went out planning to have two beers and then head home.  It’s now 6:40 and clearly that was not the case.

We started out at an Irish pub a few blocks from work.  It’s a nice small little place that a lot of restaurant folk near us frequents.  Unfortunately, because it’s the law they must close at 4:00 a.m.  Oh, no!!!  What are a bunch of alcoholics to do.  That’s not much of a question, since one of the bartenders at our restaurant works at a bar that does a super- secret after hours bar.  To get into this bar you must call ahead to let them know that you are coming, and then when you get there you must know the super-secret knock because the bar looks as if it’s closed and then only if the bartender recognizes you are you allowed in.  At this point it’s just like the old days.  You can smoke and drink and party just like it’s 1999.  It’s nice that they let us drink but I could do without the smoking.  But a girl can’t complain when people are breaking the law to let you party.

Work was good tonight considering it was slow.  We are definitely in the middle of the slow season.  We were hardly on a wait at all, and my cocktail tables were part of the host’s rotation all night, and you know that’s not usually the case.  All the same I made okay money.  It wasn’t great but I’m not complaining.  Of course the highlight of the evening was the lady who was drunk beyond all reason who passed out standing up and collapsed to the floor.  Within minutes, the manager, police, and paramedics were there trying to figure out what to do with her.  Finally they wrapped her up in a chair and carted her off to the ambulance where we think she was taken away.  She was way too old to be as drunk as she was.

And now my friends it’s 6:49 a.m. and I must go to bed.  Have a great weekend.

3 thoughts on “Super-Secret Bars

  1. Kelly Stern January 11, 2008 / 07:15

    awww… we have an after hours club here that was gtandfathered in under some old laws… you have to be a member or a guest of a member to get in… they are only open Friday, Saturday nites… sundays in the summer… they don’t open until 11pm and close at 6am… it is a gay club too… not a sex type thing… main level is dance floor… basement is pool table and darts… top level is lounge type area with music videos on the television… when i first move here i basically lived there every weekend… no a days, i am to tired to stay up all night spending money… lordy, i should have just made a post on my blog…happy friday

  2. Mike January 11, 2008 / 07:20

    There are no after hours bars down here in Orlando – at least that I know of. Of course, even if I knew about them, I wouldn’t go. Much much much too late at night for me.

  3. Lemuel January 11, 2008 / 07:36

    I love how history repeats itself. It sounds like the tales my parents told of their youth (although they were the ones trying to find these places and shut them down.)

Leave a Reply

