My weekend starts tomorrow…

It’s been a very interesting evening.

It started out at my restaurant.  The slow season is upon us.  Now that the holidays are over, no one is in the city.  It’s amazing how different things are from last week.  This means that we are much slower at work.  We were barely on a wait at all tonight and they cut the first round of waiters at 8:00.  This was good because it meant more money for the rest of us.

By 10:30 the restaurant was a ghost town.  Well for us anyway.  There were still a lot of people there but not nearly as many as we are used to.  By 11:30 it really was deserted.  I convince the manager to let the only other cocktail server go home.  He was wary but relented.  No sooner was he off the floor that we got a little rush.  By midnight I had six tables going, one of which was a six top.  I think this had something to do with the fact that no one else wanted tables and they all wanted to go home.  This was great for me, I was busy, and I was making money so I didn’t care.  It did mean that I didn’t get off till late.  The six top didn’t order their food until almost 12:30 and by the time they got it, ate, did shots of tequila, had me bring out the birthday cake, it was almost 1:45.  I didn’t mind so much though because they had a 300 dollar tab and the gratuity was included.

At around 11:00 or so a fellow server cornered me in the kitchen wanting to know where I lived.  I don’t know how she knew it but she knew that we lived near each other.  And why is this important.  Well it meant that we could share a cab home rather than riding the subway.  The subway can take almost an hour fifteen door to door and a cab is about 20 minutes at night.  It costs, however, almost 30 bucks to cab it home.  So only on a couple of occasions have I splurged to get home that way.  It’s not so bad though when it’s only 15 bucks.  So Mandy waited around for me and we took a cab home together.

I’d only been home a couple of minutes when I got a text message from my friend Lee.  Lee is my friend I mentioned a couple of posts ago who is going to Hawaii for three months.  He left today and as it turned out due to unseen circumstances had a 12 hour layover in San Diego.  He was texting me to tell me how awful the city was and that they were on their way back to the airport to try and sleep.  I immediately picked up the phone and called him.  There was no way I was going to let a friend of mine sleep on the airport floor when I knew a million people in the city they could stay with.  I hung up the phone and within just about 10 minutes had arranged a place for them to stay.  My friend Angie is house sitting so her bedroom was empty.  They could stay there.  So I called Lee back to tell him the good news.  It turned out not to be good news.  The friend he is traveling with is a bit neurotic and refused to change their plans.  He was only willing to go back to the airport and sleep.  I hope they are comfortable in the plastic chairs.  I had done as much as I could.

Of course in all of my excitement to find them a place to stay, I managed to wake up my roommate.  I hadn’t realized I was talking as loudly as I was, until he came out of his room in his robe.  He wasn’t angry, but I probably wouldn’t have felt as bad if he had been.  We chatted for a few minutes and he went back to bed and I lowered my volume.  As he said though, it was really strange because most nights he’s not even aware that I’ve come in.  And god knows I never hear him in the morning.  I sent him an email apologizing, and will probably apologize about a million times more tomorrow night.

After Chuck went back to bed, I called my friend Angie back to tell I didn’t need her apartment after all.  We talked for almost 90 minutes.  We hadn’t had a real conversation since last February and it was nice to catch up.  I told her that I thought it was amazing that I could call her up after almost a year and tell her that I needed a place for my friends to stay and that she would let them stay with her.  I think that speaks volumes of the kind of person she is.  We chatted about a million things tonight.  But probably the most significant was that she has in the past three months come out of the closet.  She has come to terms with the fact that she is gay and has since started seeing someone.  It didn’t surprise me, but I’m glad she is finally realizing that she is gay.  She seems to be adjusting to it well.  The whole conversation went there because we were talking about the Presidential Elections and who she supported.  And then I mentioned their stances on gay issues, which led to her telling me.  I’m glad that she trusted me enough to discuss it with me.

And now it’s 4:24 and I’m not in bed yet, which sucks because I wanted to be up early tomorrow.  I have a million things I want to do like go to the movies, get my hairs cut, go to the bank.  Now it will be 3 p.m. before I even leave the apartment.  Oh, well what can you do.

Have a great week guys.

3 thoughts on “My weekend starts tomorrow…

  1. sortedlives January 7, 2008 / 05:50

    Enjoy your time off. I wished I had another week off. I am off to work shortly…ughhh

  2. Lemuel January 7, 2008 / 06:19

    You had a busy weekend! Whether it turned out well for your friend, it was very kind of you to have gone to bat to find a comfortable bed for them to sleep in. It speaks volumes of good about you! 🙂

    It was also a good find for you to get together with your co-worker to share a ride in the cab. I’m sure it was much more comfortable as well as quicker.

    Enjoy your “real weekend”!

  3. urspo January 7, 2008 / 21:59

    dear me
    i thought NYC was the city that never sleeps
    i did not know there was a ‘down time’ to it – it makes it sound like Frankenmuth Michigan after the christmas rush.

Leave a Reply

