This just in…

I generally set the alarm and get up at noon when I work the night before. It allows me to get somewhere between 7 and 9 hours of sleep. I also set the coffee maker to make my coffee at noon, so by the time I actually get out of bed, pee, weigh myself, and wake up, the coffee is done. At this point I usually take my coffee to my computer, and check email. I check my “real” email account and I check my “Maddog” email account. This usually takes about 3 or 4 minutes. I don’t actually write emails, I just check them. If I have to respond to something I wait till my second or third cup of coffee. After the email, I move to the couch and turn on the TV. It’s always on Channel 1 when I get up, because my roommate has watched that channel before he goes to work to find out the weather and how things are with the subways. It’s called New York One and it’s New York City News, all day, everyday. I watch it for the same reasons. They do the weather every 10 minutes on the “ones” and give the local news. I usually only watch for 15 minutes or so before I change the TV to CNN Headline News. This way I can get a brief glimpse of the local news before I move on to the national news.

So this morning I followed this routine. I got up, I peed, I weighed myself, I got coffee, I checked email, I moved to the sofa, I turned on the TV, I watched NY1, I changed the channel, and what would you know they were just starting a story about the Iowa Caucuses. This was great. Since I worked last night and hadn’t really heard much about how they went. I got to see exactly 7 seconds of the story before it was interrupted by “BREAKING NEWS.” Oh no, theres’ been an explosion, or a terrorist attack, or winter weather, or something serious. I stayed planted on the sofa waiting to hear what the NEWS was:

And it was:

Are you ready:

Britney Spears has had a nervous breakdown, had a three hour standoff with police and was taken by ambulance to a local hospital.

And this story interrupted news about the election of the President of the United States of America, one of the most important things we’ll be dealing with over the next several months. Am I the only one who thinks this is insane. Britney Spears is not breaking news. At this point in her career she’s not news at all. She’s a washed up has been, who’s cracked out on a new substance everyday.

Someone out there, very soon needs to realize that these stories should not take precedent over the real news. Of course the news channels would actually have to start reporting the real news for that to work anyway. Grandpa buying a new truck with quarters is not news. Amy Fisher promoting her sex tape for six figures is not news. A family being forced to pay their dead relatives cell phone bill is not news. On CNN today there was no mention of the war in Iraq. There was no mention of the war in Afghanistan. There was no mention of the search for Osama Bin Laden. There was no mention of the Middle East at all. In fact, if you were to have looked at CNN.com or FoxNews.com at 4:01 a.m. there’s not a single mention of the war or Iraq on the front page of their website. I realize it’s nice to have some of the fluff to keep us from wanting to kill ourselves. But let’s not kid ourselves. There’s a hell of a lot of other stuff going on out there we as a public need to know about. Would it be so hard to actually report some real news once in a while?

I’ll get off my soap box now. Have a great weekend everyone.

5 thoughts on “This just in…

  1. John January 5, 2008 / 05:02

    I couldn’t agree more. The media does not work for anything anymore. And Brittany is pathetic, she needs to start to think about raising her children, and giving them some guidance. I am sick of hearing about her. How did we get to this point?

  2. Lemuel January 5, 2008 / 07:32

    This is all by design (seriously). Feed the sheeple Brittany news to keep them 1) entertained and 2) distracted so that their own government can spy on them, conduct an insane war for oil and profit, torture as they did in the Middle Ages and at Salem, ruin the economy and the value of the dollar,…

    Stay on that soap box, Maddog. Some more of us need to join you before we journey further into hell in a handbag.

  3. sorted January 5, 2008 / 10:04

    We have a station exactly like yours here in town. They did not go that — that was left for the morning shows.

  4. Donnie January 5, 2008 / 17:51

    I am sick and tired about hearing about the “trailer trash” exploits of the Spears family.

  5. urspo January 5, 2008 / 21:53

    think of it this way –
    every culture needs a village idiot and she is ours!
    she is serving a national need to be stupid.

Leave a Reply

