On the 12th Day of Christmas…

Yippee!!!  Christmas is over.

It actually wasn’t that bad this year.  I was supposed to go to a party at a person from work’s house, but in the end I did exactly what I said I was going to do.   I slept late.  I got up and moved to the sofa and then watched the Hallmark channel.  It worked out that just as I was getting comfy on the sofa, my favorite Hallmark movie was coming on. So I settled in and watched.  It’s a wonderful little movie about a country music singer who dies in a car wreck and is sent back to earth to do a good deed before she can get into heaven.   All of the events take place at Christmas and her good deed involves putting a family back together that’s grown apart after the mother dies.  The movie is called the Unlikely Angel and stars my all-time favorite Dolly Parton.  What’s not to love.  It’s sappy, and silly and I’ve seen it at least three or four times in the past few years.  And if I have my way I’ll watch it again next year.

The other thing that I did on Christmas Day was talk on the telephone.  I decided what better day to let people know that you care about them and love them.  So I probably called 20 or 30 people just to say Merry Christmas and to let them know I was thinking about them.  I actually talked to about 15 people or so.  In fact at 5:00 I settled in to watch Scrooge (the wonderful musical version of A Christmas Carol) and the phone rang about 10 minutes later.  I paused the movie and proceeded to talk to mom for almost 90 minutes.  Her call was followed by another and yet another and it was almost 9:00 before I restarted the movie and finished it.  I had to recharge my phone twice to get through the day.

What I realized was that if you don’t expect too much from the day then you are rarely disappointed.

Now I have to decide what I’m doing for New Years.  Our schedule at work was just posted and I am NOT working which makes me very happy.  Perhaps I’ll stay home and watch the Hallmark Channel movies that I DVR’ed on Christmas Day.   It’s just a thought.

2 thoughts on “On the 12th Day of Christmas…

  1. Kelly December 28, 2007 / 06:55

    I love that Dolly Parton movie… it rocks! and I agree, if you dont expect much, you are rarely disappointed… Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!

  2. Lemuel December 28, 2007 / 07:17

    I think the thing that brought the biggest smile to my face was your revelation that you had called your friends and family.

Leave a Reply

