I’m #1!!!

Guess who’s ranked number 1 in the restaurant this week?  You’re right.  It’s ME!!!!  Yippee.   The new rankings came out today and I was number 1.  This means I must be doing something right.  It’s all based on your sales averages, and surveys that are completed by the guest.  And I didn’t think I’d ever be first because I don’t sell certain things at the table.  We sell some of our drinks in souvenir glasses and I don’t push them.  The way I see it, if someone wants a glass with NYC on it, they’ll ask for it.  I also don’t do a lot of up-selling at the table, suggesting things like mushrooms or onions on a burger.  Once again, if someone wants it, they’ll ask.  I just give my guest what they want, treat them nicely and give them a good experience.  I don’t go out of my way to make money for the restaurant.  However, somethings working cause I seem to be doing okay.  Now if I can just sustain it.

Tonight was an interesting night.  We had a full restaurant buy out.  Some company decided that it was worth spending hundreds of thousands of dollars to have their company holiday party at my restaurant.  In fact the figure that was thrown around was about 215,000 dollars.  It seems kind of excessive to me, but then again no one is asking me.  All I know was I had to show up to work, move crap around all day, and clean up after people.  The work was not hard, but it’s not waiting tables.  All the food is buffet style and all three bars are open serving beverages.  So my duties tonight were to bus tables and say “Yes” if anyone ask for something.  This is all fine except that I was at the restaurant  for 11 hours.  It makes for a VERY long day.  And to make things worse.  We aren’t working for tips.  We are paid and hourly wage.  It’s not a bad hourly wage, but when you are used to having money at the end of every shift, it’s a little disappointing to walk out empty handed.  The money we are paid shows up in our checks, but unfortunately it’s all eaten by taxes so I’ll be lucky if I get 10 or 12 dollars on my next paycheck.  It’s nice that it covers the taxes, but as someone at work pointed out tonight, you can’t pay your rent with the money that pays your taxes.  We have another buyout on Thursday night as well.  I’m just hoping that next week isn’t more of the same.  I need to make some “real” money so I can stay  ahead in the rat race.

7 thoughts on “I’m #1!!!

  1. Lemuel December 12, 2007 / 06:07

    Your attitude toward the glasses and the onions and mushrooms is why I would consider you #1: you have a respect for the intelligence and the choices of the customer. You are exactly the kind of server I would want to have.

  2. Kelly December 12, 2007 / 07:09

    Yippie!!! Congrats! Keep up the good work!! You Rock!

  3. Mike December 12, 2007 / 23:00

    WTF, over?

    Typically, when one “buys out the restaurant” one also includes a tip for the servers.

  4. urspo December 13, 2007 / 12:36

    hohoho
    you were always #1 in my book
    congratulations!

  5. dirkmancuso December 14, 2007 / 00:29

    Congrats on being #1! (I have a feeling it has a lot to do with being nice, giving the customer what they want, and NOT whoring the glasses and mushrooms…)

    And seriously — $215,000 and there’s no tip for the people providing the service? That’s bullshit…

  6. Lemuel December 14, 2007 / 10:43

    Friday, 14. Dec.: I just tagged you for a meme. Please see my blog entry for today.

  7. Donnie December 19, 2007 / 11:06

    It’s not surprising that you’re Number 1! 🙂

Leave a Reply

