A Few Days Off

I didn’t work tonight (Thursday). I didn’t work last night (Wednesday). I didn’t work on Tuesday night. I’m not working tomorrow night (Friday). I was only scheduled to work on Wednesday but I had planned to pick up shifts either Tuesday or Thursday night. But I’ve blown the whole week off.

I’ll ask you guys the same things I’ve asked several other people I know. How often would you go home if you got to work and your boss said to you, “Person “X” has come in and offered to cover your shift. You can go home. You won’t get paid but there’s no other penalty in going home.” Would you stick around? Or would you go home? For me the answer was to go home. I said what the fuck and left.

Of course the problem with this is that I don’t get paid. And I didn’t get paid for the other days that I didn’t work. So now I’m starting to panic a little about making enough money this weekend to pay my student loan next week. I really don’t have to worry about it. Unless I have an awful night or two statistically I should be fine. But I need something to worry about. And since I am my mother’s son I’ve chosen money.

So I’m committing to working the rest of the weekend and at least 5 shifts next week. That should get me caught up and out of the hole. It’s my goal anyway.

3 thoughts on “A Few Days Off

  1. Lemuel December 7, 2007 / 08:09

    I guess it would depend upon how desperate I was for the money. Given my finances I would have probably stayed and worked – and then groused about it all night.

  2. Donnie December 8, 2007 / 15:28

    Being the miserly penny-pincher I am, I would’ve stayed and worked. Hell, I don’t even take time off when I earn it.

  3. dirkmancuso December 14, 2007 / 01:52

    I’m a worrier first class, and money is my number one thing to fret over. With that said, I would never go home unless they expressly told me I could NOT work that day.

Leave a Reply

