I’ll have a Diet Coke, please!

The refrigerator in my kitchen is covered in magnets.  They are a collection of things I’ve been picking up for the past several years.  For the most part they are from places that I’ve traveled.  Whenever I drive cross country, or fly through an airport I’ll stop and pick one up.  However, not all of them are cities or states.  My favorite magnet says, “I’d make dinner but I can’t find the phone book.”  Believe it or not I found this magnet in Kentucky of all places, but it’s so true when you are a New Yorker.  Especially when you are me.  I never cook.  When I’m home, I order in almost every night.  There are two places I use.  One is a diner which is over-priced and the food is so-so.  The other is a Chinese restaurant whose food isn’t too bad, and they are fast.

Tonight I ordered Chinese.  Since I’ve been dieting I order the same thing every time.  Steamed chicken with broccoli, no rice no sauce.  Pretty easy don’t you think?  I have to order the large to make the price above their minimum delivery charge.  Which is fine because when it’s all you are eating it’s really not too much food.  The cost of the order comes to 7.75.

images.jpegTonight when I ordered I asked if the free drink that comes with the order could be Diet Coke.  I was assured that I wouldn’t get a free drink because free drinks only come with orders over 8.00.  I thanked the guy for explaining it to me, hung up the phone, turned to my roommate and said, “A free drink doesn’t come with the order which means we’ll get a Pepsi.”  I know this because it always comes with a drink and it’s always a Pepsi.  Sure enough 15 minutes later when the food arrived, it was accompanied by a very cold Pepsi.  As my roommate said, it’s almost become a Seinfeld moment.

The question now is what do I do with a fridge full of Pepsi that my roommate nor I will ever drink?

5 thoughts on “I’ll have a Diet Coke, please!

  1. robert November 29, 2007 / 01:25

    I won’t drink Pepsi either. Did you ever go to the Chinese place on University, across from The Center? The owner always includes a free drink with my to-go orders. And it’s always a friggen Pepsi! And my orders are always over $8.

  2. Lemuel November 29, 2007 / 06:11

    I got a chuckle out of your post, because it is so typical. They must teach that in “Chinese take out school”. You cannot get the diet drink because the price was not high enough but you get a regular because it comes with the meal. LOL!

  3. Mike November 29, 2007 / 06:51

    I hear it goes well with milk… but maybe that’s only in Milwaukee.

  4. Donnie November 29, 2007 / 09:36

    My suggestion is that you give ice cold Pepsi for Christmas/Hanukkah/Kwanzaa. 😉

  5. urspo November 29, 2007 / 23:45

    dear me
    i am no help
    aren’t pepsi and coke the same thing really?
    is there a difference after all?
    give the pepsi to street people begging for a handout.

Leave a Reply

