Two and a half weeks till Thanksgiving…

My goal of sleeping in this morning was short lived.  I had set my alarm to go off at noon, and the coffee was supposed to be finished brewing by then.  But I rolled over at 8:30 and was wide awake.  I tried for about thirty more minutes to go back to sleep and finally said screw it and got up.  Although, I’m tired I did manage to get most of my errands done today and I’m not so sure I would have if I had slept till noon.  I do know that staying up till 4 a.m. and then getting out of bed at 9:00 takes it’s toll as the day wears on.  I fell asleep watching Saturday Night Live tonight.  Of course that might have been because it was one of the worst episodes ever, but I’ll just say I was tired.

One of the things I did do today was go to the gym to weigh myself.  I’ve mentioned before that my scale at home will give me five different readings if I weigh myself five different times.  It gets a little frustrating sometimes when I’m trying to figure out if I’m losing weight or not.  The scale at my gym is this huge industrial scale that gives an exact reading every time.  According to the scale today I’ve lost five more pounds.  That brings my grand total weight loss to 57 pounds.  I’m very proud of myself.  I actually wore clothes today that I haven’t been able to wear in three years.  I went through most of my clothes a couple of weeks ago and pulled out the things I should be able to wear soon.  It’s the one advantage of having saved all my skinny clothes.  I have lots and lots of things to wear as the weight comes off.  I’ll be really excited when I get down to 185 because I’ll have an entire wardrobe of things to choose from.  Not to mention it will be fun to wear nice clothes for a change instead of clothes that are baggy that I try to hide in.

I also took everyone’s advice and called my doctor today.  We didn’t talk but I’ve asked him to call me tomorrow morning before he starts his office hours.  I want to at least discuss with him what happened yesterday and find out what I can do to try and make sure it doesn’t happen again.

And on a last note.  I’ve been too busy bitching about waiting tables to talk about my real career.  I have booked another show and will be traveling to Kentucky next week to do a little musical for a friend of mine.  I’m especially excited because I’ll be staying with my mom and getting paid to be there.  The show shouldn’t be too much work and I’m hoping to get to visit some friends while I’m in the area.  I fly there on November 1 and will return to NYC on November 11.  The event I’m most looking forward to while I’m there is Thanksgiving dinner.  I haven’t had a Thanksgiving meal with my family since 1997 and my mom and I were talking and she decided that the family should just do it early this year.  She called up everyone and they all agreed so my whole family is getting together on November 10th for a huge Thanksgiving meal.  I can hardly wait.  I won’t be able to eat for a month after that with my diet, but it will be well worth i t.

6 thoughts on “Two and a half weeks till Thanksgiving…

  1. ink2metal October 23, 2007 / 00:12

    it’s nice to see that things are looking up in more parts of your life.

    i hope the positive bent becomes a more permanent one.

  2. Lemuel October 23, 2007 / 05:21

    The family Thanksgiving sounds great. Your Mom knows its not about the day but about the event. How wonderful that your family will be able to get together while you are there!

    Congrats on the continuing weight loss! As I have said before, I am insanely jealous. As for the big dinner – concentrate on the while meat and skip the stuffing, gravy, and mashed potatoes. If you are like me, you will yield to the temptation of the pie. 😉 Just a small piece tho. 🙂

    I am happy to hear that you will be talking to the doc, too.

  3. Condoblogger October 23, 2007 / 12:23

    WOW!!! Very cool about the 5 lbs and great that your fam will all be together on Thanx.

  4. Daniel October 23, 2007 / 12:48

    Thanksgiving seems to be replacing christmas as the family get together time of year. It has all the essentials (food, family, and the requiste game on tv), and avoids all the horrible hype of christmas.
    When I worked graveyards at the circle K, sleep was a real problem, either too little or too much.

  5. urspo October 24, 2007 / 23:40

    i for one eat hardly anything until thanksgiving, then i don’t eat much anyway, given all the excitement
    turkey knocks me out like a mickey finn

  6. Donnie October 27, 2007 / 22:38

    Congrats on the trip to Kentucky and the early Thanksgiving. Thanksgiving is my favorite holiday. Even being on a lower-carb diet, I love it! 😀

Leave a Reply

