I need a vacation…

My ass is tired.  I worked from 10:45 this morning till 1:00 a.m. tonight.  I’m way too old to be on my feet for that many hours.  This Maddog is worn out.  And that is the reason that I gave away my shift for tomorrow morning and am only working tomorrow night.  I was supposed to work another double tomorrow and I realized about half way through my shift tonight that it just wasn’t going to happen.

Today for the most part was a good day though.  I made decent money tonight.  I walked with almost 15%.  And I really can’t complain about that.  For most of the day I was in the lead, having sold more food and beverage than anyone else.  It wasn’t until the last hour or so that a couple of people passed me.  I’m sitting here trying to decide who I should bitch about tonight.  The Italians still suck ass.  Three bucks on a $50.00 tab.  And I was even nice enough to tell them that the service was not included.  Or how about the two businessmen who paid with their platinum American Express and left me 4.15 on 65 bucks.  But the tip of the evening was the woman and her two teenage kids who were one of my last tables.  The son was clearly gay, and they were all as nice as can be.  The joked around with me, had me take their pictures and drank about 14 glasses each of ice tea.  And they left me 70.00.  On a 67.84 dollar tab.  I hope they got mugged going home.

But tonight for every bad table there were four or five good ones.  There was the young man who had me do a birthday for his wife.  They left me 20 bucks on a 50 dollar tab.  There were the young Italian Americans who left me 15 on 65.  And I could go on.  I really didn’t let the bad tips bother me tonight.  I just said fuck it to myself and went on.  Sometimes it’s hard to do that.  Especially when you need to make money for some reason.

My favorite table of the night…the young British couple who were sat at 10:30.  They ordered beers and I quickly brought them to the table.  I then asked if they were ready to order and was told they needed some more time.  I told them to take as long as they needed and I would be back.  About 4 or 5 minutes later I returned.  They still weren’t ready.  I returned 4 or 5 minutes later and they told me they were going to order a starter but they hadn’t figured out which one yet.  I once again told them to take their time and I would be back.  When I returned, I was informed that they had decided to wait to order until midnight.  This way they would order at the exact time of the man’s birthday.   Like fuck you will.  I was very polite, but told them that the section of the restaurant that they were in would not be open at midnight and perhaps I could get them a table in the main part of the restaurant that would be open.   They were somewhat confused by this, but I explained again that by midnight I would be ready to leave and they wouldn’t be able to get food from me, but there were better tables in the main dining room that they could stay at for hours.  Finally they seemed to get the idea and I collected the money for the beers and sent them back to the host stand.  I had already alerted her that they were coming.  If I had let them sit there, I wouldn’t be typing this now, I’d still be at the restaurant waiting to come home.

The restaurant I work in has three dining rooms.  The big main dining area.  A still large but less easy to work dining room, and a smaller private dining room.  The still large but less easy to work dining room was booked for a party tonight so I was in the smaller private room.  It was being used to seat general public tables, even though the atmospere sucks and it’s kind of cramped.  It’s also isolated from everything.  I counted tonight and I was 123 steps from the kitchen.  If you don’t think that’s a lot, try making a couple of trips for mayonnaise and you’ll change your mind.  It was only slightly closer to get to the bar.  So all night I prayed that no one would order drinks from the bar and that I wouldn’t have to go the kitchen for anything.  Needless to say my prayers weren’t answered, but I made the best of it.

2 thoughts on “I need a vacation…

  1. Jason October 21, 2007 / 17:31

    Take a long, hot, soaking bath with a good “Mens” magazine and some wine.
    It helps to clear my mind 🙂

Leave a Reply

