And that’s a wrap…

It’s 3 a.m. and I just got home.  I have to be back at work in 7 hours.  Something tells me I’m going to be a little tired tomorrow.

Monetarily tonight was the best night I ever had waiting tables.  I walked with almost 20% of my sales.  Of course I ran my ass off all night.  I was in one of the cocktail sections and it’s a much different beast than just waiting tables.  The pace is much faster, people drink more, and you have to be one step ahead all night.  I was originally scheduled in a regular section but someone wanted to switch because the cocktailers are there till close.  I wasn’t sure I was making the right decision but it meant I didn’t have to go up and down any stairs so I said sure.

At first I thought I had made a mistake.  There were no tables and I wasn’t sure what was going to happen.  And then almost at once, all my tables filled up, my rail filled up and there were several people deep wanting drinks.  This was around 6 p.m. and it didn’t stop until 1:30 a.m.  What’s funny is I’m not really tired.  I had such a rush of adrenaline, that I’m wide awake and I could run a couple of miles before bed.

For the most part everyone was tipping really well tonight.  I had probably 6 or 7 tables that tipped 30 or 40%.  Of course as always there was the one or two people I just wanted to smack.  My very first table of the day was  the 4 twelve year old homos from Pittsburgh who were in town for the day.  They got great service because I wasn’t busy at all yet, and I even gave them directions to the train section.  They were kind enough to leave me 6 bucks on a 65 dollar tab.  I hope they got hit by a cab crossing the street.  They should know better.  And as usual, my one and only Italian table left me 5 bucks on a 75 dollar tab.  Someone really needs to do some international relations with them and explain that I only make a few dollars an hour without the tip.  And then I had a few tables at the end who left pretty shabby money, but by then it was clear I was going to clear a lot of money tonight so I just didn’t care.  In fact I made enough money that I spent 30 bucks and took a cab home tonight.  20 minutes by cab verses 90 minutes by train when you have to be up early in the morning makes it worth it.

So the night ended by my telling the server manager that I would work in cocktails anytime she wanted.  Most people hate it so it shouldn’t be a problem getting the shifts again.  It’s hard work, but the money is good and that’s why I’m there.

Have a great Sunday all.

4 thoughts on “And that’s a wrap…

  1. Lemuel October 14, 2007 / 06:55

    Wow! Can I hit you up for some extra to help out with my mortgage? LOL! Great going, Maddog! Good for you! Glad you had a great night!

    Re: feeling tired. Sometimes being on the go is lass tiring to the feet, etc. than just standing around. (and certainly more “$$ rewarding”)

  2. urspo October 14, 2007 / 18:13

    i have a splendid little cocktail waitress frock for you to borrow!

  3. Paul October 15, 2007 / 06:33

    Two great nights in a row. It sounds better than sex.

  4. Condoblogger October 15, 2007 / 22:48

    Isn’t there some kind of law against leaving 6 bucks on a 65 dollar tab?

Leave a Reply

