I’m tired…

I’m exhausted tonight.  I don’t know why, but I am.  I fell asleep on the couch and slept for almost 30 minutes tonight.  I think maybe I should get up and go to bed.  So I am on my way.

So I ran the show that I’ve been working on today.  It still amazes me what big idiots they are.  Not one person seems to know what’s going on.  The show was supposed to start at 1:00.  At 12:50 the audience was still standing in the lobby because the stage manager couldn’t get her act together to open the house.  At 1:10 we were still waiting to start the show.  It goes back to yesterday’s post.  Being on time is important.  So step up to the plate and get it done.   You were hired to do a job, and part of that job is being on time, knowing what needs to be done, and then making sure it gets done.  If it’s too much for you then step aside and let someone else do it…just not me.

Of course the fun part of the day was having the choreographer run up to me two seconds before the show started wanting to make lighting changes.  I had a dumbstruck look on my face the whole time he was talking.  Exactly what does he think I do?  I don’t create magic.  I can’t just snap my fingers and make it happen.  It takes time to make sure that every thing is programmed correctly and to make changes without rehearsal and running it first is never a good idea.  Besides, if it was that important why didn’t we fix it in tech.  We had two days to get it all right.  Oh, yeah that might be because you guys wasted almost five hours of tech and never had the opportunity to run the show.  Hmm, do you think that’s why?

I went in to the restaurant tonight to try and pick up a shift.  There were seven other people there also trying to work tonight.  When that many people show up, the managers do a lottery by drawing names to see who gets to stay and work.  My name was chosen first so I got a shift.  But while I was there waiting for pre-shift to take place, (That’s where the management makes announcements, tells us the specials, what we’re out of, and yells at us before the shift starts) I sold my shift for 20 bucks.  There was a guy there who needed to work much more than I did and was willing to pay me to have the shift.  So I said what the hell and gave him the shift.  Which I’m glad I did because I’m exhausted and would have been dead if I were still at work.   Wonder if I could make enough money to live on by selling all of my shifts?  It’s a thought anyway.

6 thoughts on “I’m tired…

  1. Mikell October 4, 2007 / 05:50

    I thought it was bad luck to start the show “on time”. Or is 1:01 considered “on time” for most people and just enough to keep the Theatre gods at bay?

  2. Lemuel October 4, 2007 / 06:27

    Sounds like the nap and the sleep were well worth $20.

  3. DWQ Online October 4, 2007 / 07:32

    If you get a job at like 4 or 5 restaurants as a waiter and sell ALL your shifts, that is easily $80 to a $100 a day or up to $700 a week. You might be on to something here.

  4. urspo October 4, 2007 / 21:11

    i’m pooped too; we both need more sleep and some pampering – and spaghetti pie.

  5. condoblogger October 4, 2007 / 23:46

    You are my hero… loosin all that weight, holdin down two jobs! Amazing!

  6. dirkmancuso October 6, 2007 / 13:01

    Selling your shift for $20? Well, aren’t you the lil entrepreneur?

Leave a Reply

