Weight/Waiting

It’s a quick post tonight.  I need to get to bed somewhat early.

I haven’t mentioned my weight in a while.  Thought I’d let you guys know that as of today I’ve lost 39.2 pounds.  That’s a small child I’m no longer carrying around.  I only wish it were more.  I’m so tired of looking in the mirror and seeing a fat man.  I want to look in the mirror and see a relatively normal size guy looking back.  I know that if I keep up the walking, working out, and eating right it will happen.  I just want it to be now.

Okay enough whining.  My weight is what it is and I can’t lose it any faster than I am.  As I tell people all the time.  I didn’t get fat over night.  I won’t get skinny over night.  I just have to keep my eye on the prize, stay focused and the rest will follow.  I’ll keep you guys posted as to my progress periodically.

I start my restaurant job tomorrow.  I’m a little nervous to say the least.  I haven’t waited tables in more than five years.  What if I don’t remember how.  What if I suck at it now.  What if I slap some child whose being a pain in my ass.  I’ve had several nightmares in the past week about work.  I realize that it’s all in my head, but I’m still a little apprehensive.  But I guess I don’t have to worry about it today.  In fact I don’t have to worry about it tomorrow.  The restaurant I’m working for is a chain restaurant and so tomorrow is the orientation part of the training sequence.  I have no idea how long I’ll be there, or what to expect besides filling out tax papers and insurance forms.    It will be nice though, to finally start.  I can use the money and it’ll be good to finally get all my fears behind me.  Tune in on Thursday and I’ll give you a full report of my first day.

9 thoughts on “Weight/Waiting

  1. deldell September 19, 2007 / 01:31

    You’ll do fine. You’ll get plenty of exercise, that’s for sure!

  2. Kelly September 19, 2007 / 05:47

    COngrats on the weight…hang in there, and look at the new job as a way to exercise… I know whenever I have had jobs waiting tables or working a retail floor, I have gotten in pretty good shape…just keep an eye on the food and if the kid is a pain in the ass, just give the mother mean looks before you clock the kid…. I think you should have to be 18 or older to enter a restaurant anyway… even McDonalds!

  3. Lemuel September 19, 2007 / 07:09

    Keep re-reading that second paragraph! May it be your mantra. I may just print it out and post it in front of my eyes so I keep working long term on my goals too. I think your progress is outstanding!! Maybe take a picture of yourself now and compare it to a picture of the “old you” so that you can see how far you have already come. Keep the faith!

    As for wondering what will happen if you slap a child whose being a pain in the ass, you might just find that the rest of the patrons will hoist you to their shoulders and parade you around the restaurant as a hero!!

  4. urspo September 19, 2007 / 10:05

    good luck duckie with weight and work
    perhaps the hustle of the later will help with the former?

  5. Condoblogger September 19, 2007 / 12:50

    39 lbs! You are my fucking hero! That is AWESOME!

    I have never worked in a resturaunt… I drove Pizza in college for a few months but that’s as close to food service as I got. Can’t wait to hear about all your adventures!

  6. Donnie September 19, 2007 / 16:21

    Congrats on the continued weight loss, Maddog! *big hug* Slow and steady wins the race. You’ll reach your goal in no time!

    Good luck with work. I believe once you start, it’ll all come back to you and the anxiety will fade away.

  7. Paul September 20, 2007 / 13:06

    WOW. 39 lbs! I’m assuming that you’ve lost your ass and that your pants no longer fit.

  8. dts September 20, 2007 / 19:30

    Excellent progress! I need to get my fat self back in shape. I’ll start after I finish this bucket of chicken I got for dinner…

  9. Sean September 21, 2007 / 07:14

    Focus on what you’ve done, not what you need to do. 1 pound at a time, one day at a time…..It took me 4 years to get where I am (80 pounds lighter) and I don’t regret a single moment. You are not just losing weight, you are retraining yourself to eat better, exercise more and literally change the life you have lived for the past umpteen years…it is one of the hardest things to do in a society that is saturated with bad food and idle living…everything is going against you and guess what? You’re WINNING! You have lost 40 pounds…that is huge…yes, you want it to be more and you want to see a thinner you, and it will be and you will. You got this far…the only way out is through! Love yourself enough to keep up the battle…let yourself have bad days…it’s not the single moments of bad eating or days of no exercise, it’s the big picture, the overall way you live that matters in the long run. Sorry to sound preachy, but I was where you are and I am where you will be and I know exactly how you feel…so take your time, keep on keeping on, and I’ll be at the other end, waiting….congrats on your success so far. You should be proud and inspired….

Leave a Reply

