Haircuts, News, and Yard Sales…

Earlier in the week I went to bed and completely forgot to write a blog entry.  I was on my way to bed tonight and realized I hadn’t written a post today.  I wonder what that means.  I hope it doesn’t mean that I’m getting tired of writing my blog because for the most part I still find it enjoyable and fun.  I guess it’s just something to think about.

There’s really not much to report today.  I slept late and then moved to the living room where I watched New York 1 (our local news channel) and then CNN Headline news.  It was quite the slow news day.  You know it’s a slow day when they are doing stories about a monkey who’s in love with a pigeon and a woman who has been told she can’t keep her pet deer enclosed in a pen in her yard.  It was enough though to keep me entertained for a couple of hours.

After the news I got up and showered and headed out into the city.  It was a beautiful day here.  Overcast but cool.  I took the train down to the Village and then walked to the East Village to get my hair cut.  I’ve been getting my hair cut in the same New York location for about 8 years.  I used to get it cut by Mike the VERY cute Russian who liked to massage my shoulders as he cut my hair.  Unfortunately he had moved to a different place when I returned to New York and for all my pleading for the guys that were left to tell me where, they wouldn’t.  So now I get my hair cut by Eddie.  He’s also Russian and gives a good haircut, but he’s not cute.  I guess that’s what I get for going away for three years.

I’m sitting at my computer listening to a bunch of guys argue on the street below.  They are screaming at each other, but I have no idea what about.  It seems to be all show, so I don’t think I’ll have to call 911 tonight.  What I would like though is to be paid a nickle for everytime the word “nigger” is shouted on my street corner.  I’d never have to work again.  It’s used sometimes in anger, sometimes as a friendly greeting.  But it’s used often.

I deposited  my “yard sale” items in the lobby tonight.  I had collected quite a pile of stuff in the living room over the last week.  Most of it was stuff that I should have never brought to New York with me.  An old Polaroid camera, a purple bedspread, a bunch of clothes, lots and lots of books I’ll never read again, a palm pilot, several gym bags, a drafting table…the list goes on.  More than anything it was stuff that I no longer wanted taking up precious space in my bedroom.  So out it went.  I put it all in the lobby with a sign that said, “Free Stuff.  Help Yourself.”  I figure people will take what they want and anything that’s still in the lobby on Monday I’ll take to the garbage.  I know, I know I probably could have sold it, or donated it for the tax deduction but everything’s a little more complicated in New York, when you don’t have a car and getting anywhere with the stuff is a challenge.  This way people who want it can have it for free.  It’s like my own little public service.

4 thoughts on “Haircuts, News, and Yard Sales…

  1. urspo September 15, 2007 / 09:26

    i am shocked, shocked shocked to hear there are people in the streets of new york shouting….
    the notion of an urban yard sale is intriguing; do tell how it turns out.

  2. Donnie September 15, 2007 / 16:35

    I often put stuff out for the trash, knowing that someone will drive by and take it. Better someone else enjoy it rather than it just going to the landfill.

  3. Lemuel September 16, 2007 / 05:56

    We do the trash thing by putting stuff out on the curbing. People take it. Hell, I’ve been known to take it. In these parts we call it “dumpster diving”. I wondered what New Yorkers would do with their previously used merchandise.

  4. Sean September 16, 2007 / 13:04

    It is always good karma to give stuff away. It builds up barter points with the universe so when you need something, someone will provide it. It may not be true, but I like to believe it’s true. Jeffrey and I have given away entire rooms full of furniture, only a year old, to friends and people who need it. Our wallets didn’t get fat, but we felt good about it. A small gesture to be kind to our fellow humans. Sorry about the street yelling. Even in Albany, we get to hear it to sometimes. And as far as the not-cute barber? Dump him! A haircut is an erotic event…if you can’t imagine shtooping your barber, he shouldn’t be cutting your hair!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

