And 85 more to go…

A quick post before bed.

It’s Monday so I had my official weigh in of the week.  I’m now down 28 pounds total since I started the South Beach Diet.  For the most part it hasn’t been too bad.  There have been a couple of times I’ve been tempted to cheat, but all I have to do is remind myself how tired I am of being fat and the desire to eat junk goes away.  Even with 28 pounds though, the final goal seems years away.  It still more than 85 pounds to go.  It’s when I think about the total number that I’m most tempted to say “Fuck it”.  It’s just too much.  I’ll never get there.  Why am I even bothering to try.

Of course I know none of that is true.  Of course it’s impossible, if I continue to think like that.  The real goal is to try to take one day at a time.  I haven’t given up ice cream forever.  Just for today.  I lost another 1.3 pounds yesterday.  So that’s something.  If I keep focused on the little wins then I soon lose sight of how big the big picture is.

It’s also been nice going back to the gym.  I hate that I can’t lift the weight what I could lift 4 years ago.  But lots of people talk about muscle memory and that it will take far less time to get back to where I was then it did the first time.  I don’t know if this is true, but I’m counting on it.  I hate bench pressing 5 pound dumb bells.  Okay, maybe I’m exaggerating, but it’s how I feel when I’m there.  But as I said a couple of sentences ago.  It’s not forever.  If I keep going to the gym, then very soon I’ll be able to run 5 miles without walking any of it, and I’ll be able bench press a car.  A small car perhaps, but still a car.

Enough whining.  I have to get to bed.  I have a big day in front of me tomorrow.  Have a great week.

5 thoughts on “And 85 more to go…

  1. sorted September 4, 2007 / 14:28

    Glad to hear you are doing well with the diet and exercise. You will be sfelt before next summer.

  2. urspo September 4, 2007 / 20:31

    oh i don’t know
    with patience, exercise and proper eating you can do it i am sure.

  3. dts September 4, 2007 / 21:20

    congrats on the 28 lbs! i think that the weight left you and found me. your progress is cetrainly inspiring!

  4. Donnie September 9, 2007 / 12:16

    Congrats on the weight loss, Maddog! Every ounce counts. Sure and steady wins the race. Believe me, I have days when I go, “What the f*%k am I doing? It’d be SO much simpler to just eat whatever I want.” But then I see a fat picture of myself and I stay on the wagon.

Leave a Reply

