15 Dykes and Me…

It was a great last day in Maine. I woke up early (thanks to my alarm clock). I went downstairs to find Lisa in a state because Michelle was two hours late getting home from work and she was worried sick. It took about a half an hour but finally she was able to reach her and everything was fine. Michelle had worked the overnight shift again and was tired so she slept for a few hours before starting home. Once it was clear that Michelle was okay, Lisa went in to overdrive getting the house ready for the going away party tonight.

The house is Lisa’s domain and so when she gets in the zone it’s best to just get out of her way. She doesn’t want help and so it’s no use to offer. So I decided to go back to bed. I went back upstairs and took a two hour nap. I woke up to Michelle asking me if I wanted to go to breakfast. We all jumped in the car and headed downtown to Becky’s Diner. It’s your standard fare, and for breakfast it was delicious. With our stomach’s full and our bodies pumped with caffeine we were ready to start our day. I should probably mention that today was Michelle’s birthday, so there were presents at breakfast. The presents consisted of books on raising a puppy since they have decided to get a new dog in the next few weeks. So after breakfast we headed to the pound to look at puppies.

Going to the pound is always sad because you want to take every dog home with you. There was one lab mix puppy that was so sad and beautiful you just wanted to eat him up. Luckily, he had been adopted and so was waiting to go home with his new owners. This particular place didn’t have any puppies and M & L are looking for a puppy. They think Max will be more likely to bond with a dog that’s cute and cuddly as well as not likely to fight to be alpha dog. I think they are right. There are about 10 or so rescue shelters in the area so they are going to be checking them all out over the next few weeks.

With no puppy, we headed home, where I had been charged with cleaning the bathroom. Or at least the toilets. It’s not my favorite job but it seems to be the one that Lisa will let me do without complaining. So I cleaned the bathroom, and then straightened up my room. The actual room I sleep in is quite small so my suitcase and clothes are in another room. Michelle had a friend that was spending the night tonight so that room had to be cleared out. So I spent about 20 minutes or so packing up all my stuff and getting it put away. Now I’m already to leave tomorrow.

Then we headed off the back bay to do one last walk around. It was a beautiful day and the boys were out. It was a nice to way to say goodbye to Portland.

When I got home it was time to shower and get ready for the party. And party we did. There were 15 queer women and me. I was told tonight that many of them don’t like the term lesbian. It doesn’t describe how they feel about themselves and they feel it represents something other than what they are. They prefer the word DYKE or QUEER. I told them I would try to change my vocabulary. It was a beautiful night and we grilled out. There were fresh vegetables and veggie burgers and I had a big ole steak. Everyone was drinking. And in all we had a great time. It’s the first all female going away party I’ve ever had. I do have to say though I wasn’t the butchest one in the yard. Still, it was very nice of them to do this for me and for everyone to show up. It’s 12:30 right now and there are still people  downstairs talking and laughing. The only draw back about the whole evening was that I could not drink or eat the red velvet cake because I’m really trying to stick to this diet I’m on. A few margaritas and a big piece of cake would have been nice, but I would have felt guilty tomorrow. So I can say honestly, that I stuck to my guns and said no.

Here are a few pictures of the evening.

img_0824.jpg

img_0796.jpg
img_0825.jpg

6 thoughts on “15 Dykes and Me…

  1. Lemuel August 30, 2007 / 04:54

    I know what you mean about going to shelters and wanting to take every dog home with you!!

    That sounds like a nice party and kudos to you for sticking to the diet in the face of all that.

    Thanks also for including the pictures!

  2. Mikell August 30, 2007 / 05:23

    You look extremely happy in that picture.

    BTW, my next animal will be a greyhound. I just hate the idea that they are “all washed up” after only a year or two.

    I will not call him “Santa’s Little Helper”.

  3. Donnie August 30, 2007 / 07:30

    Awww…..that looked like a great cookout. Thanks for posting the pics. You look so cute in that bottom pic being manhandled. 😉

    Have a safe trip back to NYC!

  4. dts August 30, 2007 / 10:45

    Looks like you all had a great time at the cookout. Too bad that you’re not coming out West afterall, you’re missing out on the warmest, most humd weather of the summer.

  5. Jimmi August 31, 2007 / 13:06

    Lord it’s like the freakin’ “L” word!

  6. Condoblogger September 1, 2007 / 12:30

    That’s the first picture you you I have ever seen! What a cutie!

Leave a Reply

