I got the job!!!

So I have to admit it.  Most of you were right.  Today was not that bad.  I got the job. I start around September 15th and I was only made fun of once.  I got to the restaurant around 1:25.  My friend had told me to stop by after 1:00, but what he really meant was 1:00.  He was already eating by the time I got there.  He was sitting with another manager, but got up gave me a hug and immediately told me that I hadn’t gained THAT much weight.  I told him he was either being kind or he was blind, but either way I’d take the compliment.  We then moved to another section, so I could order lunch and we could talk.  We chatted for about 30 minutes while I was eating and then he left to be on a conference call.  He told me to hang out, fill out an application, and talk to my friend Lee who was bartending.  So I sat at the bar and drank about 14 diet Pepsis (Yuck!  It’s the one thing I hate about this restaurant, but what can you do?).  About 45 minutes later my friend was back and he brought the server manager with him.  I chatted with her for about 15 seconds and she said, well if Daniel says you are good, then I’ll hire you.  When can you start.  Turns out the next training isn’t until after Labor Day, which is perfect for me.  And so my friends, I wasn’t made fun of, and I have a part time job that I’ll hate with a passion, but that will give me lots of stories to tell in my blog.

The rest of the day was equally busy.  I had a doctor’s appointment at 4:00 with my psychiatrist.  He’s been making some changes to my medication so I’ve been seeing him more often.  He changed things up again today.  He’d actually like to make some major changes but the medication he wants to put me on cost twice as much as what I’m on now.  We agreed to wait till I was working, so I go back to see him in a month.

After that, I went to Bed, Bath and Beyond to buy a new bathroom scale.  The one I have now is a real pain in the ass.  You can weigh three times and get three different weights.  It sometimes varies as much as 5 pounds, which can be frustrating when you are trying to lose weight and every ounce counts.  The one I bought has all the bells and whistles so now I have to figure out how to use it.

And then I was off to the theatre.  The show I’ve been working on closed tonight.  It was a lot of work for only two performances.  I felt the show went better tonight than it did last night.  The actors seemed to have more energy and they were just on.  Of course that’s just my opinion for what it’s worth.

Tomorrow I head back to Maine.  I’ll be there till next Tuesday or Wednesday and then I’ll be back to NYC.  Yippee!

6 thoughts on “I got the job!!!

  1. Lemuel August 24, 2007 / 05:04

    Congrats and best wishes on the job that you’ll hate! LOL!

  2. Mikell August 24, 2007 / 06:02

    Good for you. Blog fodder and a steady income. What more can a person ask for?

  3. DWQ Online August 24, 2007 / 08:07

    Congrats and make the most of your new hated job. 🙂 You may make some more excellent friends.

  4. Cincy Diva August 24, 2007 / 13:47

    congrats on the new job! Even if you don’t care for it, we will get to hate it vicariously!

  5. urspo August 24, 2007 / 16:12

    indeed congratulations on this all
    may the job and med changes be good to you
    back to maine you go..

  6. Donnie August 24, 2007 / 16:29

    A new job and a new scale…what more can a boy ask for? 😉

    I love my Tanita digital bodyfat scale. Actually, it’s a love/hate relationship.

    Have a safe drive back to Maine.

Leave a Reply

