Super Bad Bill, Killed in Crash

It’s cold here tonight.  I’ve been freezing all night.  It’s supposed to get down to the low fifties/high forties.  It’s too early in the season for this.  It’s supposed to still be up in the 70’s every night.

Not much to report here.  It was another peaceful day in Maine.  Got up early (around 8:30) and  went downstairs.  Michelle had coffee made so I poured myself a cup.  Unfortunately, there was no sweetener so I had to drink it with just cream.  I think I got through about half the cup before I switched to Diet Coke.  While drinking the coffee/Diet Coke I surfed the web, caught up on some blog reading, and read the news.   Mother Nature seems to be in a fury the last two or three days.  Earthquakes and hurricanes.  What’s next?

After the news,  Michelle and I walked down to The Blue Spoon to grab lunch.  We were the first ones there, so we got served pretty quickly.  I had a burger (without the bun) and grilled vegetables.  It was delicious.  Michelle and I sat at the restaurant talking about nothing for a long time.  It was nice to just sit and relax and do nothing for a while.

After lunch I came back, got the vacuum out and did the whole house.  Max is shedding like no one’s business.  The back stairs were gray and fuzzy rather than brown and carpeted.  It took a long time to get it all done.  By the time I was finished, their was little evidence that Max had been here.

And then it was nap time.  I didn’t really nap.  I went upstairs, got in bed and read for about 30 or 40 minutes.  I started getting sleeping and put the book down and just sort of lay there zoning.  I never did really go to sleep, I think because I was cold.  The temperature has been down all day and the wind was blowing like crazy.   After the nap it was walk time.  Michelle had decided to join me, even though her back has been giving her problems.  So we set out for the bay.  We took it slow, so she wouldn’t strain her back, but we only added about 7 or 8 minutes to the normal time of the walk.  It was a boy free day on the Back Bay today.  Actually, it was almost a people free day.  We saw maybe twenty or so people out today and usually there are people everywhere.  It was okay, because Michelle and I just walked along chatting.

Michelle was invited to a barbecue tonight, but I didn’t feel like sitting around with a bunch of strangers so I stayed home.  I made myself dinner and planted myself in front of the TV and watched Kill Bill Vol. 1.  My god is it a violent movie.  I read on line after the movie that there are 95 people killed during the course of the film.  I’d say that’s a lot.  Of course the word fuck is only used 17 times so I guess there’s something to be said about that.  I don’t know if I liked it or not.  Visually it was stunning.  But after a while the blood and gore become just too much.  I’ll have to think about this for a while.

Speaking of movies.  Last night Michelle and I saw Super Bad at the theatre.  And how was it?  Well the title sums it up pretty well.  Super Bad!  And I dont’ mean bad in the good way.  It was one long joke that never went anywhere.  There were maybe four or five really funny moments but for the most part the movie is completely predictable and we just wanted it to be over.  I’m worried that maybe I’m just too old now to think it’s funny.  It is about 17 year olds looking for sex.   But I’ve been a 17 year old looking for sex, but I never acted like that.  But then again that might be because I was actually getting sex, but that’s a different story for a different post.

I also saw the movie Crash last night.  I had put off seeing it because I’m still bummed that it beat Brokeback Mountain for the Oscar.  It was an okay movie.  It’s a little too intense for me.  And I have to wonder if people are really that mean and cruel to each other.  I kept asking Michelle if we live in a bubble where we don’t see it.  Of course I’ve lived in New York, which is a pretty rough place to live and I don’t think I’ve ever witnessed that kind of abuse.  You guys will have to let me know what you think.

And that my friends is my Saturday.  Tune in tomorrow when it’s sure to be just as exciting.

3 thoughts on “Super Bad Bill, Killed in Crash

  1. Lemuel August 19, 2007 / 13:22

    I think BM lost purely from “political pressure”. It was sweeping everything in sight and there was almost an attitude of “we can’t give it even if it deserves it because then it will have won everythiing. Besides its ‘gay'”.

    70 at night? in ME? even in August? no way.

    I hope you’ve found some local blueberry festivals while you were up there.

  2. Donnie August 19, 2007 / 13:26

    I went to see Superbad too on Sat. However, I liked it as a mindless teenage sexromp in the vein of American Pie.

    I wish it was cooler here…I’m desperately awaiting autumn!

  3. miketal20 August 19, 2007 / 18:37

    Super Bad…added to my “to watch” list!

Leave a Reply

