Word Press Ate My Post! %@&^ (Fuck)

Word Press was my best friend last night.  I spent an hour writing a post only to have it eaten.  So then I spent about 20 minutes doing the highlights of the post I’d lost only to have it eaten too.  I don’t know what the problem was but it certainly wasn’t letting me post and it certainly wasn’t saving the posts.

So here are the highlights from last nights most brilliant post ever.

We almost had a thunderstorm.  I say almost because it never really materialized.  The sky would light up and then thunder, and it did this three or four times and then nothing.  It did finally rain which we can use.  But I was disappointed that we never got the thunderstorm.  It’s been a long time since I’ve seen one up close and personal.  You rarely get them in San Diego.  Iowa was a disappointment too.  There were several in Oklahoma but I was buried in the basement of the theatre where you couldn’t even hear the thunder.   So a real live thunderstorm would have been very nice last night.

Yesterday was a very interesting kind of day.  I had a job interview for a part time, pay the bills, sort of job.  I guess you could call it an interview.  I got the feeling that they would hire anyone that walked through the door.  To say that I’m overqualified would be the under statement of the century.  I showed up though, and had all the right answers and got the job.  Well sort of.  I have to pass a background check and a medical exam.  Both events should be sort of fun.  The background check because I have a couple of incidents on my record that I’m not very proud of.  What can I say I was young and stupid once.  The medical exam shouldn’t be a problem, except the nurse who examined me yesterday acted as though I was going to have a heart attack in her chair at any moment or even worse that my spine was going to explode and I was going to be crippled for the rest of my life.  I now have to see someone else next week to determine if I can have the job or not.  After all of this, I’m not even sure that I want it.  I’ve never felt so processed in my whole life.  I felt like nothing more than a sheet of paper that was being pushed around, being ordered to sign this, and do that.  My friend Sheila has told me I should skip the job and look for something else.  I don’t know.  Any job is better than no job.  And I have to remember that this is a means to an end.  What I don’t like about this job is that I can’t take any time off.  If I were to get free lance work I’d either have to turn it down or quit the job and I don’t think that’s the answer.  So if anyone has any suggestions I’m listening.

So “Princess” the sublettor, has been a real pain in my ass lately.  She was supposed to send a check for the utilities in the amount of 250 bucks and hasn’t.  So I had to cover the check with the roommate which didn’t make me happy.  So for the past two weeks I’ve been calling her everyday, wanting to discuss the situation with her and try to figure out a compromise.  But at no time has she picked up one of my calls nor has she returned them.  So trying to figure out how to handle this has kept me awake for the past two night.  I’m trying to be understanding, but when you are unemployed, 250 bucks is a lot of money.  So last night on my walk, I finally came to a decision.  I decided that I would seek legal action and take her to small claims court.  So yesterday I called her and told her that I was going to take action to get the money from her and I found it childish that she wouldn’t and didn’t call me back.  Something must have clicked because within the hour she had text messaged me to let  me know that she would be sending an additional check.  Now let’s just hope she follows through.

The last part of the post was about another trip to The Blue Spoon.  It is by far a superior restaurant to the The Front Room.  Sheila, Michelle’s friend that I’ve been hanging out with, treated me to dinner there last night.  It was absolutely perfect.  The food was great.  The service was amazing, the atmosphere was far less stuffy.  We were seated at the bar because the restaurant was full and the chef had a question about how I wanted my steak cooked.  He just called over the bar and asked me my preference.  How wonderful is that.  And they had absolutely no problem with substitutions to make the meal fit my diet.  So as of yesterday The Blue Spoon is my new favorite restaurant in Portland.

And that my friends is yesterday’s post.  Tune in later when I have more to say about nothing.

5 thoughts on “Word Press Ate My Post! %@&^ (Fuck)

  1. Donnie August 17, 2007 / 15:46

    That was a good post, Maddog. Be careful with the “Princess'” check…wouldn’t want it bouncing on you.

    The Blue Spoon sounds like a great place.

  2. Lemuel August 17, 2007 / 19:56

    I think you did the right thing with “princess” – so long as you follow through and do it (take legal action) if that check is not immediately present. You do her a favor by demanding that she fulfill her commitments. She needs to learn that now or she will assume that she can drift by doing the same thing to everyone. It is painful, but you must be the teacher.

  3. Daniel August 18, 2007 / 02:15

    Suggestions:
    1-Find a rich old man, and be his sugar boy,

    or,

    2- BE the rich old man.

    It can work either way.

    Good for you with princess. She needs to learn that sort of behavior catches up with her.

    What a cool restaurant!

  4. briteyellowgun August 18, 2007 / 09:24

    You want my job?

Leave a Reply

