A Visit from a Maine Ghost

I freaked myself out last night, here in Maine.  I went to bed around 12:30.  The house was quiet except for the fan in my room.  I was lying in bed reading, starting to get sleepy.  When the back stairwell light turned on.  What the fuck.  So much for being sleepy.  I slowly got out of bed and stuck my head out the door and yelled, “Hello.”  No one answered.  I waited, and then said hello again.  Nothing.  By this time I had no idea what was going on.  There are a number of people in town who have keys to the house but it was very unlikely they would be coming up the back staircase at 12:30 a.m. unannounced with no Max barking.   Not sure what was going on, I yelled for the dog.  She’s here for protection right?  It was clear I’d awakened her and she had a look of leave me the crap alone.  But she wandered into my room and planted herself on the dog bed at the foot of the bed.  I figured if something was up, she’d at least let me know about.  So I climbed back into bed and finished my chapter.

I’m still not sure what caused the light to come on.  I do have to say it happened again today without all the dramatics and so it wasn’t nearly as scary. Luckily there were no disturbances the rest of the night.  The nice thing was that Max stayed at the foot of my bed all night and the better news was she slept in.  When my alarm went off at 8:30 she was still asleep.  She’s been getting me up at 5:30 to pee and it’s not a lot of fun to go out in the dark at 5:30.  It actually wouldn’t be so bad except there are two skunks who live under the porch next door.  Seems about 6 months or so ago Max tried to play with them and you can guess the rest.  So now when she goes out after dark she has to be on her leash just in case the skunks are out.  So at 5:30 it means traipsing down the stairs, finding the lease, getting the little bag in case she does more than pee and then taking her out and waiting.  And in case you didn’t know it, 5:30 is not my favorite time of the day.  So I was very thankful that she slept in this morning.  Now if we can just make a habit of it.

Today was a big exercise day.  One of Michelle’s friends called to see if I wanted to go walk around one of the islands that are nearby.  I thought it was a great idea and so she dropped by about 5 minutes later and we left.  The walk was beautiful.  It was tree covered along the water and there were hardly any people out because it was so hot.  Each time around is about 1.25 miles and we did it twice.  It was fun to walk a different path as well as having company.   After she dropped me off, I took Max for a very short walk because it was very hot today and she doesn’t like the heat.  We did manage to see a very cute shirtless roofer just down the street, but that was the extent of the shirtlessness.  After the walk I drove over to the back bay and walked that as well.  It’s 3.5 miles around.  All told I think I walked a little more than 6 miles today.  It was a little short of two hours of cardio.  Unfortunately it was VERY hot and I went TOO early so I only saw one cute shirtless boy today.  He was very cut though and he passed me twice so that more than made up for the lack of bodies today.

Today is day 9 on my diet.  I’ve been taking it very seriously and am doing quite well I think.  As I said a couple of days ago, Michelle hid my scale before she left but I feel thinner so I must be thinner.  I’m going to keep this up.  I’m tired as fuck of being fat and I want to be thin.  My biggest problem is my patience.  I want to be thin now and it doesn’t work that way.  I have to remind myself that I didn’t get fat over night so I won’t get skinny over night.  Now if I can just keep it up.

Tonight I drove down to Ogunquit to see La Cage Aux Folles starring Max Caufield and James Beaman.  I left a little early because I wasn’t sure where I was going.  I knew I was in trouble when I got to New Hampshire.  Seems there is no exit for Ogunquit off I-95.  You have to exit several town before it and then take US 1 south.  Not knowing this I got to New Hampshire turned around and then took US 1 north until I got there.  Luckily there was still plenty of time to get a Diet Coke and call my mother.

As for the show:

I’d have to say my first concern was the use of lighting instruments to project the names of the corporate sponsors onto the walls of the theatre.  I was a little taken aback.  I completely understand the need for corporate sponsors.  I know theatre wouldn’t happen without them.  What I don’t agree with is making it part of the design of the show.  When you walk into the theatre you want to be swept away by the magic that’s going to occur.  I suppose many people might argue with me, but I see the whole room as being part of the design picture.  Therefore anything that takes us outside the realm of the play even before it starts I’m opposed to.  Kind of like the 10 minute curtain speech that preceded the start of the show.  You’ve already advertised the sponsors in the program, you have their logos 10 feet high on the theatre walls and now we have to applaud for them before they start the show.  Enough already.  You’re killing the mood.  Start the play already.

And it starts.  And well lets just say there are some problems with the show.  Maxwell Caufield is just bad.  He doesn’t have the stage presence to carry his role.  He tries, he really does, but it’s just not enough.  I felt like he was from the community theatre down the street.  The dancers are okay.  It’s clear they can dance, it just looks like they didn’t rehearse enough.  None of the steps are together, which works sometimes but not in the opening number.  James Beaman is great.  He single handily saves the show.  He’s funny without being over the top.  He’s lovable and bitchy all at the same time.  I sat waiting eagerly when he wasn’t on stage for his return.  The rest of the cast is mediocre at best.  It’s not like I was expecting Broadway calibre but I was expecting it to be better than it was.  As for the technical elements.  I’ve seen better community theatre productions.  The lighting looked as if it wasn worked through once and then walked away from.  There were live scrolls, moving lights that moved when they shouldn’t, lights that were focused badly and the cuing was just bad.  The scenery was even worse.  The set of the apartment looked as if it was going to collapse at any moment.  It shook like a San Francisco earthquake whenever anyone got near it.  I kept waiting for it to roll forward into the orchestra pit.  As for the costumes.  Some of them were great.  In fact most of the club clothes were nice and all of Mr. Beaman’s costumes worked.  What didn’t work is the street scenes.  I felt as if they’d been pulled from costume storage a couple of days before they opened.

I’ll stop being bitchy now.  It’s hard when you are in the business to watch a show and just let it got and enjoy it.  I feel like I’m always evaluating and trying to see how it was done, how it could be better, or what the secrets are.  And yet I still enjoy going to the theatre.  I love the dimming of the house lights and the beginning of the show.  It’s the moment when anything can happen and it’s a journey to take.  Unfortunately, tonight the journey was a bit of a dead end, but what can you say.

That’s it.  It’s 2:09 and it’s way past my Maine bedtime.  Have a great weekend.

3 thoughts on “A Visit from a Maine Ghost

  1. Donnie August 4, 2007 / 14:16

    Sounds like a great day, Maddog. All that exercise is great. Walking is the best exercise out there. That’s how I lost the majority of my weight…walking and low-carb.

    I know how you feel about wanting to be thin “right now”. I’m the same way. I want my bodyfat to get to 10% right now and I don’t want anymore loose skin.

    Enjoy the rest of the weekend. 🙂

  2. DWQ Online August 6, 2007 / 07:46

    Oh look at you gettng your walk on. I was horrible this weekend and barely walked at all. I even watched hours of Spongebob Squarepants because the remote was on top of the Tv.

  3. deedisparti August 11, 2007 / 11:07

    The light going off and on is strange. We often have that kind of thing happen in our house.

Leave a Reply

