Lonely in Maine

I spent my first night alone in Maine last night.  It was very quiet and lonely.  I’m in a big frame house with about 11 rooms all to myself.  I sleep in the upstairs back bedroom which is just big enough for my twin bed, but is cool and comfortable.  But to be in this big house all by myself was a little lonely.  It wouldn’t be so bad if my friends have cable but they don’t even have TV.  There’s a large screen computer in their living room that they watch movies on.  It’s not much company when you are here alone.

I suppose I should say that I’m not afraid.  I have a big hulking dog named Max who barks at anything that comes near the house.  So I’d know the minute anyone tried to come into the yard.  Of course I don’t know that she’d be much protection if I needed it, since she’s more pussy-cat than guard dog.  I’ve actually never known a more spoiled dog in my life.  Max belongs to Michelle’s girlfriend and is 13 years old, although you would never know it.  She bounces around like a little puppy.  It was discovered several years ago that she was sensitive to most store bought dog food so now the girlfriend actually cooks Max’s dinner.  And it smells heavenly.  It’s boneless chicken with brown rice and potatoes with a mixture of vegetables in a brown gravy.  I feed it to Max twice a day and sometimes I’m tempted to stick my finger in and give it a taste.  Max gets this twice a day.  She also has the run of the house and completely rules the nest.  I say all of this kind of jokingly because she truly is one of the sweetest dogs I’ve ever met.  She’s wonderfully behaved and would never think of doing anything bad in the house.  All that said I don’t know how protective she’d be if I needed it.

I’m sure a lot of you out there would love the peace and quiet of such a large house, near the water in the middle of Maine.  Me on the other hand…not so much.   I like companionship.  I love it when Lisa and Michelle are here.  It’s great.  But by myself, it’s a little much.  I’d love to turn on the TV to keep me company and to be able to lie on the sofa and just flip through the channels but there’s no such luck here.  Who knows by the end of August I may actually like spending time with myself.

There are several other things they do without here.  There’s no microwave.  I don’t know why.  But there isn’t.  There’s no air conditioner.  According to everyone here you don’t need one.  But as I stated last week, it’s been hot and muggy since I got here.  There’s no garbage disposal in their remodeled kitchen.  Don’t worry, I’m not complaining… far from it.  Actually I think their house is beautiful and I love spending time here…when they are here.  Starting tomorrow will be my first real time spent here alone.  Michelle is leaving tomorrow to go the Women’s Music Festival in Michigan.  It’s an interesting event and something I think would be fun to attend.  Unfortunately, it’s a womyn only thing.  If you weren’t born a woman you don’t attend.  Everything I’ve heard about it makes it sound wonderful and only makes me want to go more.

So from tomorrow 7/31 – 8/15 I’ll be  in charge.  Max is going to learn to sleep late, and take afternoon naps, and walk on the beach, and cruise cute boys, and then take another nap, then watch Netflix movies, and write on my blog, and then go to bed…and then get up and do it all over again.  For the most part it really will be great.  I have a whole list of things I want to accomplish like updating my work website, updating my resume, working on my portfolio, making some more scarves, losing 10 pounds, walking every day, actually finishing a story on my blog that I started last summer, and telling some more, seeing some movies, and I might even see if there’s a place to get into any trouble in Maine.  All that in two weeks.   More than enough to keep me busy.

Right now though I’m going to bed.  I have to get up at 5:30 to take Michelle to the airport.  I don’t mind because by 6:00 I’ll be back in bed asleep.  See you guys tomorrow.

7 thoughts on “Lonely in Maine

  1. Lemuel August 1, 2007 / 04:03

    Now, see, the situation you describe is my idea of heaven: alone in Maine with a great pooch without TV. **Sigh** I hope you come to enjoy it, but I understand that we each like different things.

  2. urspo August 1, 2007 / 08:44

    it does sound lovely; but then again I don’t have the experience of urban living. City folk don’t feel quite comfortable in the quiet of a small town life.

  3. Brett August 1, 2007 / 09:54

    Hope you are enjoying your “first day in charge” – sounds absolutely wonderful to me – enjoy every minute!

  4. Donnie August 1, 2007 / 14:42

    It sounds pretty good, though I think I’d have to run out and buy a TV and have digital cable installed. 😉

    Good luck achieving all your plans for your Maine vacation.

  5. Erc August 2, 2007 / 06:16

    Gosh, I love Maine. Having just returned from my little vacay in Vermont, I was reminded of how beautiful Maine is (in the summer, anyway).

  6. Jeannie May 29, 2009 / 19:25

    I agree, Maine is awful!! I moved from Southern MA to live my life up here, in Northern Maine. Although it is a beautiful country, the folks up here are awful. You could be dead for months and they wouldn;t even check on you. They should be ashamed of themself’s. Please folks, leave them alone. They will never except you. Trust me, I live with these so called citizens. Stay Away. they will burn you!!

  7. sandrar September 10, 2009 / 08:19

    Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.

Leave a Reply

