Freaky Clowns, Scrambled Eggs, and an Evil Sublettor

I’m so tired I can hardly stand it.  I had caffeine way too late last night and at 4:30 this morning I was still awake, lying in bed, waiting for sleep to come.  There’s nothing worse.  I was so tired this morning that I don’t remember my alarm going off, I don’t remember turning it off, and I don’t remember going back to sleep.  I woke up around 9:00 or so to my friend Michelle asking if I wanted breakfast.  She was making scrambled eggs and thought I might like some.  And I did.  So that’s when I got up.

My roommate called me at around 9:30 to give me the latest in the on-going saga of the sublettor.  Last month she shorted him 125 bucks on the rent when it was due.  He was pissed but covered it and she gave him the balance about a week and a half later.  He explained to her that this was unacceptable and she couldn’t do it again.  Well on Wednesday, she did it again.  He wasn’t nearly as polite this time and actually dragged her ass out of bed to bitch her out on Wednesday morning.  Then he called me to tell me that the check that I wrote for September’s rent was going to have to be used to cover her missing portion of the August’s rent.  This was fine, but it pissed me off.  I told him to tell her that if it wasn’t paid on time she would have to cover the late charges the landlord will bill us.  When he told her this he said to her to either give him a check for the late fee, or be out by the first.  What do you know she suddenly had the rent available.

I just don’t get it.  Who rents an apartment and then doesn’t pay the rent.  I’ve never paid my rent late.  Never.  I might miss a car payment.  Or a cell phone payment.  Or an electric payment.  But never the rent.  The way I see it…you HAVE to have a place to live.   Have to.  Therefore the rent always gets paid.  I also find it amazing that she does this the first month she lives there.  If she can’t afford it (and it’s VERY cheap by NYC standards) then go some place else.  I was upfront about all the expenses when we made the arrangements.  And unlike other people I know, I’m not charging her more than I pay for the rent.  I just want her to cover my portion of the expenses while I’m not there.  Needless to say, I’m more than a little pissed about how she’s treated my roommate, me and the whole situation.  Anybody want to beat her up for me.

Tonight was the drag show.  It went well for the most part.  I say for the most part because the space they were performing in didn’t have air conditioning and the temperature was about 200 degrees.  They also didn’t have any fans so the air wasn’t moving at all.  It also annoyed me that the show started 30 minutes later than it was supposed.  How hard is it to start on time.  And the lighting was awful.  You couldn’t see half the performers that were on stage.  My friends were mostly in the dark for their performance.  The show was also a little weird.  It started out with a clown juggling.  It helped that he was cute.  But he was still a clown and that’s just freaky.  The next act was another clown.  This one more European and a woman.  But still a clown.  Still freaky.  Next was a guy playing some strange guitar like contraption singing Greek music.  Not fun.  Next was a LARGE black woman who did this performance art piece to poetry she had written.  It consisted of her walking back and forth on the stage with an umbrella responding to the things being said over the speakers.  Then she sang a song…and in a word.  She SHOULD NOT sing.  Last was my friends.  They were a welcome relief to the evening.  They were upbeat, sexy and fun.  At last we were at intermission.   We promptly picked up our things and left.  I was not willing to sit around for ACT 2 and see what strange performers were there.

And that brings me to now.  I’m home getting ready for bed.  I’ll brush my teeth and hopefully be asleep in the next 15 minutes or so.  Day two on my diet went well.  No complaints.  AND I walked 5 miles today around the bay.  I’m going to try and walk at least part of it everyday while I’m here.  I figure between walking and dieting I should get the weight to go away.  I’ve add a ticker to the right on my blog that tracks how much weight I’ve lost.  It’ll keep you posted on how I’m doing.

4 thoughts on “Freaky Clowns, Scrambled Eggs, and an Evil Sublettor

  1. Kelly July 28, 2007 / 07:25

    I love the ticker thingy… so I have added to my blog too… and drag shows NEVER start on time…

  2. Brett July 28, 2007 / 08:30

    DAMN – that is a lot to cram into one day -and Kelly is right – drag shows NEVER stat on time – it is like arriving at “gay time”.

  3. Donnie July 29, 2007 / 15:24

    Congrats on the weight loss….and good luck. You can do it! 😉

    See, as a perpetually early person, this “gay time” annoys the hell out of me! Punctuality is key.

  4. Daniel July 30, 2007 / 01:07

    It sounds like a cross between Saturday Night Live and The Twilight Zone doing a drag show skit. Funny, but a little bit eerie.

Leave a Reply

