I’ve become an old man…

Perhaps someone can help explain the traffic I’m getting at my blog lately. Up until two weeks ago I was averaging about 35 to 40 people a day. Not great but considering that I’m not quoting the news and not changing lives I thought it was respectable. Then for two or three days it dropped to about 20 and since then it’s exploded. Today according to my Site Meter I had over 200 people stop by. I’m sure they aren’t sticking around and reading about all 49 days of my visit to Oklahoma, but they are at least clicking on the link. My question is why? Why without a gradual build do I have so many visitors. They are from all over the world. Some days mostly foreign but as today mostly withing the U.S. I’m not complaining, I’m just curious.

Today was my first full day in Maine. I feel like I’ve stepped back in time. First the twin bed. There’s not much to say about it. Second, there’s no TV. Not just no cable. But no TV at all. My friends have a large screen computer they watch movies on but there’s no television to be seen in the house at all. Third, there’s no AC. I’ve been assured that it’s not needed here in the north, but so far I’m not convinced. It’s hot. It’s humid. The answer. AC. It’s not hard to figure out. I’ve was also warned today that the car I’m being left with doesn’t have AC either. Hmm…Soon we’ll be sitting by the woodstove, whittling a new seat for the outhouse.

I realized today that I’m old. There was a band in town tonight called The Cliks. It’s sort of an all girl band although there was talk the lead singer was a Trannie. Either way she’s kind of cute in that androgynous sort of way. But I digress. I stood in the back tonight and all I heard was noise. Lots and lots of loud noise. There were moments that you could tell music was being played but from my perspective, it was just noise. I spent most of the time I was there watching the cute straight boy make out with his girlfriend as they stood next to us. Based on the music on their website, it’s not bad. Live. Yuck. And this is how I’ve realized I’m old. I’m the parent yelling for their kid to turn down that awful racket. Forgetting what it was like 20 years ago to hear live music.

I think I’ll stick to whittling by the fire from now on.

5 thoughts on “I’ve become an old man…

  1. Mikell July 26, 2007 / 04:46

    Remember, you also have to talk about how you walked to school everyday. Up the hill both ways. Barefoot. In the snow.

  2. Kelly July 26, 2007 / 04:50

    I hate to break it to you, but a week or two ago I too had a huge increase in traffic for two or three days…most of the hit were coming from the same IP address and it looked like someone was htting everyone of my entries… someone told me that it is spam hits… I don’t know how to control them, but they went away after a couple of days and I am now back to average… or you could be one of the lucky ones who is actually becoming more popular…hmmmm… I still see you everyday..

  3. Brett July 26, 2007 / 08:55

    Just be careful – whittling can lead to starting stories that begin with “When I was your age…”

  4. Donnie July 26, 2007 / 15:08

    So, you’re experiencing the “time warp” that is Maine, huh? I hope it goes well. Maybe you can have some “fun” while you’re there. 😉

  5. urspo July 26, 2007 / 20:56

    ah well
    with age comes wisdom and a serenity that is not all too bad
    go eat a lobster.

Leave a Reply

