Maine: The way life oughta be…

Sorry Mr. Ur-Spo about the lack of a post today.  I went out with friends from Oklahoma last night and got a little tipsy.  Then the trains were fucked up and it took almost 90 minutes to get home.  When I got there, the sublettor was up and wanting to talk so I never got around to posting.  I’ll try and make it up to you.

As for me…

I just arrived in Maine.  I was supposed to be here hours ago, but I couldn’t get my hung over ass out of bed.  It was almost three before I finally managed to get up.  I quickly showered and headed downtown to get my rental car.  This turned into an experience all on it’s own.  I got there and was quickly waited on by the girl behind the counter.  She processed my license and my credit card and within about 10 minutes I was ready to go.  I was told to wait outside and my car would be brought down.  And so I waited, and waited, and waited and no car appeared.  Finally I went back to the counter to find a look of dismay on the girls face.  I don’t know what the problem was but I wasn’t getting that car.  She was just finishing up another customer and asked me to wait.  It’s now been almost 30 minutes and I don’t have a car.  But I wasn’t going to let this upset me, my head was hurting too much to care.  Finally, she gets back to me and tells me they have no more midsize cars.  The best she can offer is an SUV or I’ll have to wait till tomorrow.  I agree to the SUV.  She re-processes everything and finally I am on my way.

Unfortunately, it’s now almost 5:00 and NYC is in the heat of rush hour.  It took almost 60 minutes to get back to my apartment.  And driving in New York is a dangerous affair.  I lost count of the times I was cut off, forced over, and made to suddenly stop.  It really is a every man for himself sort of deal.

I got home, found parking and then finished packing.  The I went and got the car, packed it and was on my way.  I got on the road believe it or not around 6:45.  Not too bad considering.  Luckily the rush hour thing seemed to be over and I made good time.  There were a couple of times I doubted my directions but in the end is all worked out.

And now I am in Maine.  At my friend Michelle’s house.  In a twin bed.  It’s become the curse of my life.  I’m 42 and destined to sleep the rest of my life in a twin bed.  I’ll let you know how it compares to the one in Iowa and the one in Oklahoma.  I’ll be here for the next three or four weeks at least.  I’m going to spend my time looking for work, updating my work website, and walking the dog along the water.  Hopefully it will be a relaxing time.

4 thoughts on “Maine: The way life oughta be…

  1. DTS July 25, 2007 / 08:44

    hopefully you’ll get a chance to unwind despite your Maine squeeze aka twin bed. I just got a double a year or so ago.

  2. urspo July 25, 2007 / 09:30

    Maine is the Land of Lobsters! eat one for me
    and that’s Dr. Urspo.

  3. Donnie July 25, 2007 / 11:37

    Glad to read that you made it to Maine, despite the rental car snafu. Enjoy the nature all around. 🙂

  4. Brett July 25, 2007 / 15:45

    “I’m going to spend my time looking for work, updating my work website, and walking the dog along the water.” I can’t think of a better place to do all those things than Maine! Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

