I’ve clicked my heels together…

And now I’m home.

soles-oz.jpg

It’s 1:11 and I’m sort of getting ready for bed.  I’ll talk about that in a minute.  I got home around 11:45.  And when I say I’m tired, it’s an understatement.  My friend Pete and I have been on the road since 10:00 this morning.  The trip took almost two hours longer than it was supposed to because of a major traffic accident in Cincinnati and because I-80 is completely under construction in Pennsylvania.  After a while it was almost a joke because we’d only drive 10 or 12 miles and hit construction again.  So what should have taken 12 hours took almost 14.  Ugh.

It also didn’t help that we didn’t get to bed last night at my mom’s house until almost 3:30 and my mom woke me up at 6:30 to say hello and chat for a bit before she left for work.  I did manage to get about another hour of sleep before the alarm went off to get up.  So if you do the math you can see that I’ve only had about 4 hours of sleep.  So you can’t exactly call me rested.

The best part of my evening?  Getting a call from the girl subletting my apartment telling me she wasn’t going to be staying at a friends after all, but would be staying in my apartment.  The call came not two minutes after I was boasting about getting to sleep in my queen size bed tonight.  Not the little twin I’ve been sleeping in, but an honest to god grown up bed.  I could have reached through the phone and hit her.  I stayed calm and finished the conversation and then yelled like an angry man when I was off the phone.  I then picked up the phone and called my roommate to tell him about her latest antics.  He was not surprised.  He’s taken to calling her the “Princess” because she acts as though she’s entitled to the world.  He spent the first 10 minutes of the conversation telling me about new and inventive ways she’s been annoying him.  And then he pointed out per my post last week, that indeed after this experience he would be hard pressed to ever let me sublet my room again.  So not only is she annoying him, she’s fucked me.  Gotta love her.

It does feel good to be home though.  I actually got to watch The Daily Show which I haven’t seen in 7 weeks.  And I got to sit on my sofa.  And just lounge there without some drunk 19 year old actor coming in to be noticed.  It will be nice to spend time with grown ups this week.  That is if you don’t count the girl living in my apartment.  Okay so she’s not all bad.  She just told me that I can sleep in my own bed tonight.  But still it would be nice if she weren’t here.

Tomorrow I have to run errands galore.  I have to go the bank, to the barber, and then just do some normal type errands.  And then come home and sit in my underwear and watch TV because no one will be home until around 10.  I can hardly wait.

And with that my friends.  Good night.

4 thoughts on “I’ve clicked my heels together…

  1. sorted July 19, 2007 / 03:37

    Glad you made it home. I would agree after being gone so long, “There’s no place like home.” Enjoy your day!

  2. Kelly July 19, 2007 / 05:28

    hmmm… I am sitting in my underwear on the front porch reading this, with a huge hangover… if i were not in the middle of the city… i would be naked… ughhh… heheheh

  3. Eric July 19, 2007 / 07:46

    Welcome back to the city!

Leave a Reply

