Day Forty-Five: Oklahoma

It’s 3:00 a.m.  and I’m still awake.  This wouldn’t be so bad except that I have to be up in six hours to drive three and a half hours to our last tour stop and our final show.  Ugh, why have I done this to myself.  At least I was having fun for part of the time even though I probably won’t go into that here.

Tonight was closing night for one of our shows.  It was kind of sad because it’s the show everyone likes.  Unfortunately, it’s not the one we are touring with.

I talked to my roommate today.  Seems the girl subletting my apartment isn’t working out so well.  She’s a bit of a pig, drank all of his Diet Coke and didn’t pay the rent on time.  This upsets me because I thought she’d be fine and it will make having a subletter again hard to convince him of.  I’m afraid of what my room will look like when I get home on Wednesday.

Yes, Wednesday.  I’m actually driving back.  The technical director has become a good friend of mine and is leaving for NYC on Tuesday in his car.  He had kind of joked about me joining him, so I finally asked if he would like the company and he said yes.  So on Tuesday we’ll drive from Oklahoma to Kentucky and stay at my mom’s house.  And then on Wednesday we’ll drive on in to NYC.  I can hardly wait to sleep in my own bed.  I may stay there for two days straight.

And one final note.  I didn’t receive one comment today.  I know it’s not really important, but it’s nice to know people are out there.  It’s the first time in many months that no one’s commented.  So if your stopping by to read, say hello.  I’d like to know who you are.  And it will validate me.  And god knows I need some validation.

Have a great weekend.

5 thoughts on “Day Forty-Five: Oklahoma

  1. Kelly July 14, 2007 / 06:00

    Consider yourself validated… I have been a bit of a slacker lately on all my comments… but you should know we are still here

  2. Paul July 14, 2007 / 06:27

    I would guess that closing night really can be sad.

    I can only image that it’s like the last night of summer camp. (Myself having having been “shipped off” every summer as a kid.) Strangers have become friends, and even though you all say that you’ll stay in touch, no one really does.

    Our lives are all shaped by the events we get to experience and the people we meet.

    Think ahead ten years, and you’ll be at a party and you’ll say, “Let me tell you about the summer a few years ago that I spent in a college dorm in Oklahoma …” Everyone will listen in disbelief.

    I’m really looking forward the final chapters of this story.

  3. sortedlives July 14, 2007 / 07:46

    Sorry for not commenting. Like many bloggers, life got in the way. Hope all is well and I am sure you can’t wait to get back to NYC! Hope all is well!

  4. urspo July 14, 2007 / 08:21

    i too send validation
    and diet coke

  5. Daniel July 14, 2007 / 18:35

    Mea culpa…
    I get lonely when I don’t get comments. I hate that needy feeling.

Leave a Reply

