Day Twenty-Three: Oklahoma

I officially woke up today with the cold that’s been being passed around for the last two weeks.  My throat was raw and my voice was two octaves lower than it normally is.  I’m tired and congested and keep coughing nonstop.  This does not make for a pleasant Maddog.  Especially when I still have one show to do.  Ugh.

We had a preview of my second show tonight.  It went well I thought.  The director had tons of picky notes but I wasn’t too concerned with them.  What I’ve discovered with him is that when things aren’t working on the show and can’t be fixed he picks on the things in the show that can be fixed.  Like the lighting.  Some of his comments were valid and things I already had taken a note on.  There were a couple of things though that I totally disagreed with and hate to have to change.  But theatre is not a democracy and anyone who tells you differently is lying.  So tomorrow I have to make the changes he’s requested.

Although I’m not feeling well and I’m tired, I’m not really sleepy.  It’s 2:15 and I’m wide awake.  Who knows what that’s about.  I have been home since about 11:30.  The director has taken to bringing me back to the dorm at the end of the night.  One of the girls on my crew thinks it’s because he likes me.  I certainly hope not.  He’s a nice enough guy but he’s definitely not my type.  So he brought me home tonight and I had a couple of beers with him and the cast downstairs.  We were joking about what the season should be for next year.  We were all throwing out horrible ideas of a season to see who could come up with the worst configuration.  I think the worst was Mame, Joseph, and Grease.  We’d sell lots of tickets but we’d all be miserable.  I’m not thinking we need a little Christmas that much.

After the director left I wandered upstairs and found my ME and assistant ME sitting on the floor in the hallway.  The assistant ME is having man troubles and was chatting online with her NYC boyfriend.  I keep telling her she should just dump him since she really doesn’t want to be in a relationship with him.  But she doesn’t want to hurt his feelings.  Hmmm…is it better to lead him on.  Anyway, I was standing in the hallway when the asshole from next door came out and told us to shut up and go to bed.  Now I’m the first to like it quiet when I’m trying to sleep, but since his girlfriend whose staying in the same room as him had just brushed her teeth I doubt very seriously he was already in bed.  However, what annoyed me the most was his dickish attitude.  No niceties, no please, no thank you.  So as he walked away I said, “I’m sure he meant to say please.”  To which he turned around and confronted me.  He looked like he was going to hit me.  Wouldn’t that be fun.  Trying to be nice and sounding like an ass I told him that for most people please and thank you go a long way and perhaps he should adopt that method.  Especially if he really wanted us to be quiet.  He didn’t take too kindly to this lecture.  Oh, what’s a girl to do.  He finally went a way and I went downstairs.  I heard that he came back later and called me a dick.  Oh, no?  My feelings have been hurt now.  How will I ever sleep?

Tomorrow we start staging for the final show I’m doing.  It’s a show I’ve never heard of and don’t know anything about.  I also don’t know what any of the music sounds like and don’t even know the plot.  It’s usually expected that you’ll read the show before you start working on it.  But all I have is a vocal score and it’s almost impossible to follow.  There’s no explanation of who the characters are or what they are doing.  So tomorrow, while the director’s spacing on stage I’m going to try and figure out what’s going on.  Then next week when we start tech I’ll know if the show’s pink or blue, bright or dark and moody.  At least I hope to know by then.

And on one final note the show we’ve worked on all week opens tomorrow night (Friday night).  I think it’s quite good.  The lighting is spectacular and I don’t say that about my work mildly.  I do think that I’ve done a good job though.  I’ll be nervous tomorrow night at 8:00.  I always get nervous before my shows, but when I really like the show I get really nervous.  I’ll be okay once we get through the opening song.  But until we get to cue 17 I’ll be on pins and needles.  I have to decide if I’m going to sit in the house and just be an audience member or if I’m going to sit in the control booth on headset and take notes.  I want to do both and since I can’t do both I have to decided between now and then.

Everyone enjoy their Friday and have a great weekend.

3 thoughts on “Day Twenty-Three: Oklahoma

  1. Steven June 22, 2007 / 08:56

    Good luck with the show tonight! And even though it’s said to the actors of the show, “Break a leg.”

  2. Donnie June 22, 2007 / 10:32

    I hope all goes well with the show.

    God, I hate it when people are dicks just for the sake of being one. My passive-aggressive nature would try to make his life a living hell from that point on. 😉

  3. Condoblogger June 25, 2007 / 05:36

    I’m playing catch-up on your posts while waiting for a plane (I’ll wave as we fly over OK).

    Is it more fun to go into a show blind? Seems like you could really be pretty free to do it exactly as you want with no preconcieved ideas… as opposed to staging a show that you are familiar with where you might be able to do it faster but less creatively?

Leave a Reply

