Day Twenty-Two: Oklahoma

I created art today.  I don’t know how I did it, because God knows there hasn’t been time to create art.  But I did.  The show that opens on Friday looks great.  I still have a lot of little notes to take care of, and there are some timing issues in figuring out exactly how long some of the cues need to take, but for the most part it’s there.  At one point tonight, I thought the director was going to have an orgasm, he was so pleased with the lighting during the scene.  He just kept saying…”Oh my God!  Oh my God!  I finally had to ask him to be quiet because he was disturbing the show and more importantly he was disturbing me.  It did make me feel good to know that I had finally done something more than just light the actors which is how the first show felt.  I’m going to try and take photos next week so perhaps I can  post a few of them.

Not much else going on today.  It was a rather quiet day in the big scheme of things.  Got to the theatre early and worked through the show with the stage manager making the changes I could without the cast.  At 2 p.m. we ran the show with costumes for the first time.  It went okay except we started late so we weren’t able to finish before rehearsal was over.  Tonight was an orchestra dress, meaning a dress rehearsal with the full orchestra.  For the most part it went fine there were no major catastrophes to speak of.

We have a preview of the show tomorrow night.  There are about 200 tickets sold for it.  It’ll be nice to see the show with an audience to see how they respond to what we’ve done.  As theatre artists who’ve been in rehearsal for the past month, it’s sometimes easy to forget that we don’t do this for ourselves but for a live audience.  That means the timing of things will be off tomorrow because we’ll have never rehearsed with applause and laughter which always slow a show down.  All of these changes are of course for the better.  If we didn’t get applause and laughter there would be something seriously wrong with the show.

On one final note, I think I’ve finally caught the cold that’s been going around.  I’ve been congested all day and have been coughing my head off.  I’m hoping that it’s really just allergies and doesn’t turn into something that makes me feel miserable.  Just in case I’m going to bed early tonight (1 a.m.) and am sleeping late in the morning.

3 thoughts on “Day Twenty-Two: Oklahoma

  1. danny June 21, 2007 / 14:31

    it’s amazing that you get any sleep at all. anyway, i know it can be hard to take a complimet but i’ve learned to take them as they come. it’s always better than not getting them. LOL!

    well, i hope you feel better and get some real rest.

    sounds like the show will be just fine.

  2. urspo June 21, 2007 / 20:26

    the creation of art is one of the most important things to do; thank you for that.

  3. Donnie June 22, 2007 / 10:27

    Congrats on “wowing” the director. 🙂

    Take care of that cold/allergy. Summer colds can be a bitch. Hopefully, it’s just allergies flaring up after the thunderstorm.

Leave a Reply

