Day Twenty-One: Oklahoma

We are having the most wonderful thunderstorm right now.  It’s been going on since just before the show came down and is loud and beautiful.  The lightening is all over the sky and has been incredible.

So I’ve been in Oklahoma for twenty-one days.  Three weeks if anyone’s counting.  Today makes my twenty-first post.  Since I’ve been here my readership has never been higher.  I’m getting almost 50 visitors a day, which I love because being the vain man that I am, I like knowing people are reading.  That being said, I’m getting fewer comments than I’ve ever gotten.  In fact as I’m writing this I’ve had no comments on yesterday’s blog posting.  I don’t think it’s because people aren’t reading. I think it’s because I’m not commenting.  I’ve not had time to keep up with my daily reads and therefore people aren’t responding.  I’d like to say I don’t mind.  But I do.  I want comments.  I want to know what you think.  Am I boring you?  Entertaining you?  Thrilling you?  Killing you?  Let me know?  Even if it’s short and to the point.

It’s been a sucky ass day all day today.  First the tech director screwed  me over.  I was supposed to be in the theatre today at 9 a.m. to work on the second show but he didn’t schedule it.  So, we didn’t get in till almost 2:15 for a 2:30 rehearsal.  Whoops.  Needless to say I was a little behind.   As of right now, there are huge parts of Act 2 that haven’t been cued yet and I still haven’t seen the last seven minutes of the show.  Tomorrow we run the show with costumes in the afternoon and with orchestra at night.  So there’s no time built in for me to do my work.  I’ll go in in the morning and cue without actors and hope for the best.  It’s kind of like being blind folded while you work.   We open Friday night so I’ll let you know how the show goes.

One of our chorus members went to the hospital with appendicitis today.  Which made for an interesting afternoon.  Everyone ran around like a chicken with it’s head cut off trying to cover her track in the show.  I didn’t watch tonight (I was drinking Makers and Coke) so I don’t know how the replacement did.  No one died so it must have been okay.

Making matters worse.  The director lost a relative over the weekend.  So with an appendix, a death, and lot of other diversions, I don’t think he even noticed the end of act 2 wasn’t cued yet.  I had drinks with him earlier this evening and he was a mess.  He’s completely torn up by the death but because of the shows can’t go home.  I wouldn’t want to be in his shoes.

That’s it for tonight.  I’m about to turn the light off and enjoy the thunderstorm and  try to get some sleep.  Everyone have a great hump day.

7 thoughts on “Day Twenty-One: Oklahoma

  1. danny June 20, 2007 / 02:52

    hey maddog,

    i also try to leave a comment whenever i read your posts. it’s just that i hate feeling like a stalker.
    anyway, i read your blog whenever my feed reader shows an update. so you know i am a frequent reader even if i don’t comment.

  2. Jason June 20, 2007 / 20:07

    I love watching a good thunderstorm as well.

    Sorry to hear about all the troubles plaguing your play. I’m sure things will get better and work themselves out.

  3. urspo June 20, 2007 / 21:30

    oh how i miss midwest thunderstorms!!
    I am mad-jealous
    I have noticed the ‘lack of comments’ from you lately but I know you are a busy boy.
    Send some thunderstorms my way please.

  4. sortedlives June 21, 2007 / 16:41

    Don’t fret my friend, I think the world of blogging is on vacation — or at least not reading, commenting, or blogging. I guess it is trendy to not comment or blog.

    Have fun, be safe, and be good at what you do! Enjoy your time in OK!!

  5. Donnie June 22, 2007 / 10:24

    Sorry about the commenting, but I’ve fallen into reading my blogs via my NewsGator in spurts. So, don’t be surprised if you get comments from me on several posts one right after another.

    I love reading about your days in OK. It’s like a little “movie serial”.

    🙂

  6. deldell June 24, 2007 / 21:03

    That happened to me when I started getting more readers. It’s an odd phenomnon. Sorry I’ve been away, but my computer was down for a little while.
    I love thunderstorms.

Leave a Reply

