Day Twenty: Oklahoma

Why am I up at 2:15 in the morning on a school night.  It might have something to do with the fact that I didn’t get officially out of bed until 5:30 this afternoon.  Yes, it’s official, I am a slug.  I wasn’t asleep the whole time.  I was awake and cold.  Then awake and sleepy.  And then finally awake enough to make phone calls.  I spent from around 4:15 till almost 6:00 on the phone.  I talked to my mother for almost an hour of that time.  Yesterday was Father’s Day and I forgot to call.  Before you ask, any of the father holiday’s get her down since my dad died and I should have called but I completely forgot about the day.  So I talked to her and let her go on about the weather, the relatives, etc.  I figured since I forgot yesterday, I’d let her talk as long as she wanted to today.  Based on the conversation, I think she handled the day quite well.

I also talked to the girl whose subletting my apartment today.  She called because she needed my bank account information to deposit a check that I needed to have deposited.  The whole story.  I asked my roommate to do it and he said sure.  Unfortunately he forgot the checks this morning on his way out the door.  So he called the sublettor and asked her to do it.  She said sure.  For some reason she thought she could deposit my checks using here ATM card at the bank.  She was going to write my account number on it and then deposit it in the machine.  I have no idea what she was thinking.  Love her heart, she’s sweet but she’s not the most Brilliant bulb in the box.  So she called me to get the account number from me.  I explained to her that she couldn’t do that.  That if she used her ATM card they would put my check in her account and since it was already 6:30 she couldn’t go to a teller.  By this time I was a little snippy.  Today was my day off and I only had 5.00 in the bank, which is my own fault but I was snippy anyway.   Unfortunately this will end up costing me thirty bucks because my account is now overdrawn.

And the reason it’s overdrawn is because I had to eat and I’d already decided I was going to the movies so I had to have money.  I ended up eating with the stage manager and assistant stage manager at Applebee’s.  It would not have been my first choice but one of them had a gift card that needed to be used.  All the food except for the mashed potatoes was kind of gross.  After dinner we went to see Knocked Up.  I loved it.  It was funny through out and many times it was laugh out-loud, applaud funny.  I think it was so funny because it was so honest about relationships.

After the movie I came home and wrote a letter of application.  I still don’t have work lined up for after this little stint in Oklahoma and there’s a perfect job in the northeast that I would love to have.  I am rewriting my standard letter because the old one wasn’t doing the trick.  Hopefully this one will or I am going to be living on the streets.

So now it’s 2:28 and I’m going to bed.  Oh, and one last thing.  The tech director forgot to schedule time in the theatre so although I let him use my crew on Saturday I don’t get to work tomorrow to play catch up on the show that opens on Friday.  Fuck.  Fuck.  Fuck.

One thought on “Day Twenty: Oklahoma

  1. Donnie June 22, 2007 / 10:20

    It’s great to read about your phone conversation with your Mom. Aren’t Moms the cutest?? 🙂

    Jeeze, the woman subletting your apartment doesn’t sound like the sharpest crayon in the box. I hope everything got straightened out.

Leave a Reply

