Day Nineteen: Oklahoma

Got to sleep in till noon today.  I still didn’t get a great night’s sleep.  Who knows what that’s about.

I’ve been in a bit of a mood all day.  Kind of anti-social.  I haven’t wanted to be around other people, or hang out, or talk on the phone, or do anything really.  I’ve actually sat in my dorm room all night catching up on blog reads and just sitting quietly by myself.  I hope this doesn’t last long because I don’t like it when I’m like this.  I’m much more of  a social being.  At least I like to think that I am.

I did go to the theatre for a little while today.  I had a couple of notes to take care of.  Then I walked outside to make some phone calls.  I was talking to my roommate when the show started.  I heard later, that it was a good thing that I wasn’t there.  Seems the ME (master electrician) didn’t turn on the scrollers (a device that allows you to change the color attached to the lighting instrument) so when the show began what was supposed to be a blue scene was orange.  Whoops.  At the end of the scene the scrollers were turned on and the audience got to see them scroll through all their colors till they got to the right one.  The ME has never mentioned this to me.  I heard it from the stage manager. He (the ME) proves his incompetence more and more everyday.  I didn’t even know what to say about it.  Getting angry wouldn’t do any good.  I am beginning to think he just doesn’t care, which would explain a lot.  I do know that he won’t be hired back next year.

I don’t think I’ve mentioned this but I think I might be staying an extra couple of weeks.  The director and tech director want me to stay and so I’m considering it.  It would mean a little more money and I could use is.  It would mean that instead of going home July 1, I would go home July 17.  I don’t yet know how much money it would be so I haven’t agreed to it yet.  But if it’s enough I’ll stay.

Tomorrow is our day off.  I’m sleeping late and then I’m going to see if I can’t get the TD/Stage Manager to go to a movie.  It would be fun to do something off campus away from the  actors.  If nothing else it would be nice to go out to  a real restaurant and eat a real dinner that doesn’t come in a cardboard box and isn’t fried.

That’s it for tonight.  I hope everyone has a great week.

4 thoughts on “Day Nineteen: Oklahoma

  1. danny June 18, 2007 / 02:22

    enjoy some time off. sounds like you work hard enough to deserve it.

  2. Donnie June 18, 2007 / 12:47

    Enjoy your day off. I hope you have a good time on your “dinner and a movie” date. 🙂

  3. condoblogger June 18, 2007 / 19:46

    Have a great day off!!! Loving your posts.

  4. urspo June 18, 2007 / 20:16

    more summer months in the Land of Tornados? that could be for some hot/humid days.
    what a different cup of tea than Iowa/February.
    hang in there.

Leave a Reply

