Day Eighteen: Oklahoma

Not much to report today.  I slept until 4:00 this afternoon.  Of course I didn’t get to bed until 6 a.m. so it’s not like I slept a long time.  And it wasn’t good sleep.  It seemed like I woke up every two hours or so all day long.  It definitely wasn’t restful sleep.  My ass has been dragging all night.  Luckily I didn’t have to do anything today so it was okay.

My first show opened last night.  I thought it went well.  There were a few things that needed tweaking but nothing major.   I made those changes today and I should have been done.  Unfortunately, the director doesn’t think that way.  He came up to me tonight after the show and asked for a couple of changes.  I usually believe in the idea that once the show is opened, it’s locked and my work is done.  But it seems it doesn’t work that way here. So tomorrow afternoon, I have to go in and make the changes he requested and then see how it goes.

It was an interesting show last night.  The leading man had food poisoning and they stage managers were fully prepared for him to come off-stage and blow chunks every where.  They had buckets stationed all over the place just in case.  He managed to get through the show okay, with only a couple of minor screw ups.  Considering his well being he did a great job.

We should be reviewed in the local paper tomorrow.  I’m kind of anxious to see what’s said.  I think the show’s actually pretty good.  The cast is quite talented and really pulled together in the last couple of days to make a good show.  The only thing I don’t really like about the play is the scenery design, but what can you do?  I’ll let you know what the reviews say when I see it.

Tomorrow I’m sleeping late and then going to the matinee.  Afterwards there is a cabaret show that I’m going to attend.  I’ve heard they are quite good and I’m looking forward to some thoughtless entertainment.  Monday I have the day off and then Tuesday it’s back to work with a vengeance so that I can open my next show on Friday.

2 thoughts on “Day Eighteen: Oklahoma

  1. Donnie June 17, 2007 / 18:05

    Sorry to hear about your restless sleep. Those can be worse than not getting sleep at all. I hope the reviews were good. 🙂

  2. urspo June 17, 2007 / 22:48

    there’s no business like show business…
    I am glad you got to sleep in after all this drama.

Leave a Reply

