Day Sixteen: Oklahoma

It’s been an interesting day here in Oklahoma.  First, I sort of got to sleep in.  My crew went in at 8 a.m. but since they were doing things that I didn’t need to supervise,  I slept until 10:30.  Of course I was supposed to meet my ride at 10:30 so I took another one of those very, very quick showers.  I think I brushed my teeth longer than I showered and was downstairs by 10:37 and out the door.  David wasn’t there again this morning at Quick Trip so I was a little disappointed.  I really like starting the day by seeing cute boys.

I got to the theatre to find that none of the notes that I gave from yesterday were finished.  It seemed to me when I got there they had just started.  As it turns out they had just gotten there.  The Budget rental truck wouldn’t start again this morning so it caused everyone to be behind schedule.  Of course my ME didn’t need to wait with the truck.  He could have gone on to the theatre but that’s beside the point.  Needless to say, we weren’t ready to turn lights on when we were supposed to be.  So we took the afternoon off.

So I went and had a little fun.  Seems there is certain  establishment two blocks from the theatre where a person of the gay persuasion can go to have fun.  So I trekked my big butt over there and paid my eight dollars and went into the theatre.  It was an interesting set up.  There are five theatres you can choose from and each one has three or four movies playing in it.  There are little rooms with 9 or 10 theatre chairs set up.  Of course the rooms are dark and all sorts of unspeakable things go on in them.  I went in theatre three in case anyone’s interested.  There weren’t many people there, but after a while a guy who looked to be in college came and in and we had some fun.  I stuck around a little while after that and then had to get back to the theatre for rehearsal.  I went back later tonight since we were off again, but absolutely nothing was going on.  It was a wonderful little break from the stress I’ve been dealing with.  I think I deserved it.

I then headed back to the theatre where the orchestra and actors were finishing up a sitzprobe.  For all those non-theatre/opera people out there.  A sitzprobe is when the cast gets to perform with the orchestra for the first time.  I should probable say sing instead of perform  because they aren’t really acting.  It’s just the first time all the musical elements come together.  It was great hearing the orchestra tonight.   For the most part they sound really good.  We’ll know more next week when we add costumes and lights.

Tomorrow we start cuing the next show.  I have asked to be given as much time as possible since I didn’t get any on the first show.  We’ll see how it plays out.  Tune it tomorrow.  Same bat time.  Same bat channel.

2 thoughts on “Day Sixteen: Oklahoma

  1. sortedlives June 15, 2007 / 15:00

    I am glad you found some “relief” in Oklahoma.

  2. Donnie June 16, 2007 / 12:51

    Ah, sweet relief. Just be careful…I wouldn’t want you in the same mess as Paul Rubens. 😉

Leave a Reply

