Day Eight: Oklahoma

It’s now 2:51.  I’ve been up since 7:00 a.m.  Actually the alarm went off at 6:00 but I didn’t get out of bed until 7:00.  At which point I managed to take the fastest shower ever and be in a car at 7:15 ready to go to the theatre.  Not bad if you ask me.

Originally we were supposed to be able to sleep late today but the scenery is so bad the technical director had to be there to see if he could help with it.  Unfortunately, this caused more work for me and my crew because when the scenery moves, the lights that light it have to move.  After a quick stop at Quick Mart we were on our way.

Actually, Quick Mart has become part of our daily routine.  No matter where we are going, or what we do it starts with a trip there.  For me it’s all about the Diet Coke.  One cannot possibly start the day without a Diet Coke.  Often it includes breakfast as well since they have an assortment of biscuits and croissants.  But mainly it’s about the Diet Coke.

Today was no different.  We made our stop and we were on our way.  I slept most of the way there.  At least I dozed.  I haven’t mentioned it, but since I’m older than everyone else.  I have permanently called shotgun.  I DON”T sit in the back seat.  This 20 year old girl tried doing it the other day, and I took a long pause and said NO!  There was no argument, no discussion.  Just an understanding that I was sitting up front.

We got to the theatre at a little after 8:00.  The show I’m doing is opening out of town.  Kind of like the old days.  It’s just we are not in New Haven or Baltimore.  We are in small town Oklahoma in a city that has a new performing arts center.  What this means is I have to design the show twice but I only get paid once.  I didn’t know this little fact when I signed up to do the show.  And once I was committed I was committed.  Or should I say, I should have been committed.   So the show is opening out of town.  And right now it’s a disaster.  Mostly because of the scenery.

To be honest with you it’s ugly.  I thought it was ugly from the beginning.  At least what I could see.  If you remember the designer was a little slow in getting me what I needed.  So the scenery is so ugly the director has now cut ALL of the ACT 1, SCENE 1 scenery.  It’s gone.  POOF!  What he hasn’t decided is what’s going to replace it.  I’m anxious to find out because it will definitely affect me.  The technical director is also anxious to find out since he’s going to have to build the replacement scenery.  All we know now is that the director hates it, the scenery designer is pissed and no one wants to do anything about it.  And it all rounds out to making more work for the rest of the crew.  YIPPEE!!!!  Oh and we open on Friday.

So our day at the theatre ended at 11:45.  If you do the math that’s another 16 hour day.  I actually have been enjoying it but I’m tired and need some sleep.  Although right now it’s 3:03 and I’m still awake.  Anyway, the day ended and the director cornered me and asked me to ride home with him.  Did I mention the out of town theatre is 45 minutes away.  So I climbed in the car and away we went.  It was the scariest thing I’ve done in a long time.  He’s the worst driver ever.  There were a couple of times I thought we were going to run off the road because he wasn’t paying attention.  I was very thankful when we arrived in one piece.

After we got home, I grabbed us a couple of beers and we met with the stage manager to discuss the problems.  This was after a 45 minute meeting at the theatre.  Mostly it was the director asking if we had time to fix the problems.  I finally managed to sneak off and went down to the tech director’s room.  He’s a great guy and I enjoy spending time with him.  We trade theatre stories and just chat.  He’s the one sane person in my life right not.  And he has a fridge full of beer and that helps.

I just left his room.  That’s why I’m up so late.  Luckily tomorrow I don’t have to be up until noon.  Yeah for me.  So I’m off to bed.

More bad jokes told today:

Why shouldn’t women wear watches?  There’s a perfectly good one of the stove.

Why do women have small feet?  So they can stand closer to the oven.

What do you get when you stick an ice pick up a baby’s ass?  I don’t know about you but I get an erection.

This last joke was told over dinner a couple of nights ago.  I think it was to shock more than anything.  I laughed.  But  I was laughing at the person who told the joke and the reaction of the people at the table.

Oh the joys of summer theatre with a cast and crew of 12 year olds.  What have I gotten myself into.

I’m now going to climb into my bunk bed and try to sleep.

2 thoughts on “Day Eight: Oklahoma

  1. KipEsquire June 7, 2007 / 05:00

    Oklahoma humor — charming!

    Hope you get to escape soon…

  2. Cincy Diva June 7, 2007 / 13:47

    I am afraid I would have laughed too! I grew up in the rural south. They love dead baby jokes down there

Leave a Reply

