Day Six: Oklahoma

I’m one TIRED Maddog today.  I didn’t sleep well last night for a lot of reasons.  First, I think I had too much beer.  Seems beer is the drink of choice here at summer theatre Oklahoma and we tend to drink a lot of it.  I don’t mind.  It’s kind of fun.  I don’t tend to drink all that much when I’m New York so it’s nice to just relax and have a couple of Corona’s and chill.  Last night though, I had several which might have been part of the sleep problem.

The bigger issue though was the party the actors were having.  Traditionally, Monday is an actor’s day off.  As much as we tease them, they work hard.  However, what they don’t realize is that those of us who are tech and design don’t really get that day off.  So they were having the blowout from hell last night.  And even when sober actors don’t have inside voices, they especially don’t have them when they are drunk.  So there was much yelling and singing.  Several people had asked them to quieten down before we all went to bed, since most of us worked a 15 hour day yesterday and had to be up this morning to do it again.  Of course the real reason I didn’t get much sleep.  At 3:00 a.m. ( I know because I looked) there was a knock on my door and the door slowly opened ( I must have forgotten to lock it).  I couldn’t see who was there, but I turned over and said yes.  This girl’s voice then proceeds to ask me if I would like some Saltines.  Yes, crackers.  Fucking crackers at 3 in the morning.  What the fuck.  I started to yell, but something told me not to.  So I politely said no and that I had to be up in 6 hours and would like to go back to sleep.  She then closed the door.

This morning when I got up, it was confirmed that it indeed was an actress who was walking around offering crackers.  I jokingly asked her about this evening and she said that she thought I was an actor who had been throwing up earlier because he’d had too much to drink.  Alright, so she was trying to be nice.  But how could she not know that I lived down the hall from her?  But you can’t be mad for long.

So tomorrow we start tech rehearsals.  This is where we start cuing the show and I really get to work.  It promises to be a very stressful day, but hopefully it will go well.  I’ll of course give you a full report tomorrow.

3 thoughts on “Day Six: Oklahoma

  1. Condoblogger June 5, 2007 / 13:15

    I am LOVING these dispatches. Hysterical. Only in the blogosphere could I read about a New York lighting designer living in a university dorm in Oklahoma who is offered saltines at 3am. Oh, and throw in a cute bisexual ME to boot. Awesome.

  2. urspo June 5, 2007 / 23:56

    lay off the corona its bad for the complexion
    you are falling into ill repute living -and it will lead to social dancing I know it.

  3. Donnie June 6, 2007 / 15:18

    Ah….I love reading these posts! Thank you SO much, Maddog. 🙂

Leave a Reply

