Day Five: Oklahoma

I’ve had a great day.  I worked from 9 till 11 and actually did physical labor for the first time in a long time.  And it was great.  Of course right now I’m tired as hell, but it’s a good tired.  They way you feel after a long, hard day of work.   As a lighting designer, most of the time your work is done for you.  You have  a crew that hangs and focuses the lights, and does all of the physical labor.  Unfortunately, we are a little short on help, so today I had to grab my wrench and work as hard as everyone else.  And I had a good time.  We still have  long way to go before we open our show on Friday night, but with some luck and perseverance we’ll be just fine.

We got home from the theatre around 11:45 p.m. or so.  It’s about a 30 minute drive from where we are staying.  We arrived home to find the actors, full swing in a party.  They’d had some formal function earlier in the evening and then come home to continue drinking.  The first thing we did was nip the noise in the bud.  We’d all been awakened last night (Saturday) when they’d come in from drinking at 2 a.m. and decided it was a good time to sing and dance in the hallway.  We wanted to let them know it wouldn’t be happening tonight.  After we quieted everyone down it was off to the TD’s room to drink beer.  Nothing like a very cold Corona when you’ve worked your ass off all day.

Of course I did have to raise a little ruckus before I really was able to relax.  The back-story:  When I was told I was staying in a dorm, I wasn’t happy but I was willing to live with it.  Then the room assignments came out and I was told that I didn’t have a roommate.  Which was good because I wasn’t willing to live in a dorm room with another person.  It’s one thing when you are 19 to share a room with another person.  But at 42 unless you’re going to let me fuck you before we go to bed, I’m not sharing my room.  All was fine until I got here.  Seems someone named Keith was sharing my room.  I immediately raised red flags about it and was assured that he would never spend the night here.  He just needed a place he could nap during the day and keep his stuff.  I could live with that.  Well tonight about 30 seconds after I arrived here, I was told by Keith that he was spending the night.  I thought to myself…Fuck that.  So I went to the stage manager and the artistic director and said no way.  I think at first they thought I was kidding but I let them know that I was not.  He was welcome to leave his stuff in my room and hang out during the day, but he was not spending the night.  I don’t know what transpired after that but when I returned to my room about 15 minutes ago his stuff was gone.  As I told the gang I was hanging out with tonight…unless he’s sleeping with me, he’s not sleeping with me.

I have to be up early in the morning.  Tomorrow is officially our day off and we have to be at work at 10:00 a.m…..go figure.  It’ll be another long day but what can you do.  Hopefully, it won’t be as long as today was.

Have a great week.

4 thoughts on “Day Five: Oklahoma

  1. Mikell June 4, 2007 / 05:16

    I feel the same way about house guests. Makes for an uncomfortable conversation whenever TheHusband’s father comes to visit.

  2. DWQ Online June 4, 2007 / 06:59

    Did you ask if he was going to sleep with you? Maybe that is what he meant by “spending the night”

  3. Donnie June 4, 2007 / 18:43

    Well Maddog, I hope there are no more dorm room disasters. 🙂

    Have a great week!

  4. urspo June 4, 2007 / 19:28

    but tell us how you really feel about sharing a roommate….

Leave a Reply

