O-K-L-A-H-O-M-O…Oklahomo. Yeow!!!

images-4.jpgIt’s May 30th.  I’m leaving for Oklahoma in about 4 hours.  Everything is packed.  I just need to jump in the shower, dress and wait for the car to arrive to take me to the airport.  I’m more than a little tired.  I’ve been up very late the last two nights.  I finally emailed off my design at about 12:45 last night.  For the most part I think it’s good, although lying in bed last night I realized a couple of things I didn’t do.  Nothing awful, and since I’ll be there later today I can take care of it in person.  I just hate when things in my drafting aren’t clear.  After I emailed off my design last night I spent the next two hours putting away everything I brought home from Iowa.  Well maybe not putting away.  It was more about finding a hiding place for it.  I’ll deal with the piles when I get home in a month.  I wouldn’t have worried about it but a friend of mine is subletting my room while I am gone.  It’s means for the next couple of months I don’t have to pay rent…and that will be a wonderful.

So although I’m very tired, I’m actually looking forward to getting to Oklahoma.  It will be the first time I’ve designed on the road.  Not that it’s any different, but it’s nice to think that I’m good enough to be flown there, and housed for a month just so they can see my work.  Doesn’t sound half bad does it.  Of course when I say house, I should mention that I’ll be staying in a dorm.  Somehow at 40 the idea of communal showers doesn’t sound nearly as exciting as it did when I was 20.  My, how things change.  I won’t care as long as the bed is comfortable and there is air conditioning.  And I’ll need to get a “dorm” size refrigerator so that I’ll be able to have an endless supply of Diet Coke.  I wouldn’t want to go through withdrawl.  That could be bad.  The one thing I don’t know, is whether I’ll have an internet connection or not.  In the emails I’ve received it’s been kind of vague about whether it would be working or not.  So if you don’t hear from me for a month, know it’s not on purpose.

So I’m off.  Wish me luck.

5 thoughts on “O-K-L-A-H-O-M-O…Oklahomo. Yeow!!!

  1. Jason May 30, 2007 / 13:34

    Make sure that soap is on a rope in those showers 😉

    Have fun with your new adventures in OK!

  2. Donnie May 30, 2007 / 14:53

    Good luck in OK, Maddog! I’ll have my fingers crossed that your accomodations are befitting a man of your stature and station. 😉

  3. sortedlives May 30, 2007 / 19:32

    Wishing you lots of luck!! Call me if you get bored, I will be around.

  4. urspo May 30, 2007 / 20:40

    lots of luck in the Land of Tornados

Leave a Reply

