Pssst. It’s me.

It’s been a very hectic week for me.  First Chuck’s friend was in town from Sunday to Wednesday and then my friend arrived from Wednesday to Monday.  We’ve had non-stop house guests since last Sunday.  Not that either of us mind, but it does make getting the things you would normally get done in a week difficult.

Most of you know that I am a night person.  I do most of my best work after 8:00 p.m.  And I only get better as the night progresses.  Because there’s been someone sleeping on my couch for the last week I haven’t been able to be a night person.  I have had to go to bed at semi-regular hours which means I haven’t gotten as much done as I would have liked.  I have fallen behind in posting on my blog.  It feels like weeks since I last posted.  I know it’s only been a few days but it’s how I feel.  Many of you have probably noticed a lack of comments on my part as of late and it’s because I’ve been unable to catch up on the blogs that I read daily.  I also haven’t been able to put away the things I brought home from Iowa so my room is a mess and worst of all, the design for my shows in Oklahoma is not finished and won’t be by Monday when it’s due.  Whoops.

I like being able to blame all of this on my house guests because it’s easier than taking responsibility for it myself.  If I were being honest I might point out that I have not been out of bed before noon all week.  I might also point out that Friday and Saturday night I was out drinking with friends who are in town this weekend.  I might also point out that I helped my friends set up their portfolio’s on Friday for a conference they had.  But this is only if I’m being honest.  And since I don’t feel like being honest, I won’t mention these things.

My design for the shows I’m doing in Oklahoma are due tomorrow.  I’m not finished with them.  In fact, I haven’t even started drafting the show although the rough is finished.  It’ll take me all day tomorrow to finish and that’s if I work non-stop.  I almost feel bad about it.  But I’ve been getting the shaft from a fellow designer who’s been making my job almost impossible to do, so I’m using that as an excuse.  I’m sure that by end of day Tuesday I’ll have it emailed off.  As I keep saying what’s the worst that’ll happen.  They could fire me.  But if they are going to do that I hope they do it before I leave on Wednesday.  (Just for the record, I very rarely turn in work late.  I pride myself on meeting my deadlines and would have for this project if it weren’t for the scenery person.)

Hope everyone has a wonderful Memorial Day.  Eat a hot dog or hamburger for me and don’t forget to save me a beer.

5 thoughts on “Pssst. It’s me.

  1. condoblogger May 28, 2007 / 15:45

    I hope the design comes out good! You and I have very similar work habits!

  2. deldell May 29, 2007 / 00:07

    Oh well, I have a story outline that was due Saturday, and I’m still brooding over it like a hen over an unhatched egg.

  3. Donnie May 29, 2007 / 15:06

    LOL….I know what you mean…I’ve been delinquent in my blog reading/commenting duties.

    I hope your designs and drafting went well.

  4. urspo May 29, 2007 / 21:19

    I think Oklahoma needs something radical this time; such as more Native Americans or better yet Teletubbies.

Leave a Reply

