It’s a drag…

It’s Sunday night and my weekend in Maine is over.  I have to head back to Iowa for one more very quick week and then I’m done.  Maine has been fabulous.  I’d forgotten how much fun it is to spend time with people you love and just do nothing.  I’ll post pictures of the weekend when I get home tomorrow night but for now I’ll give you the run down on the drag show.

Friday was spent all day at the theatre helping Michelle and her friends get ready for the show.  We got to the theatre a little after 8 a.m. and spent the whole day there.  They rehearsed numbers, scene changes, costume changes, dance steps, and sound cues.  All of this is done while laughing our asses off at their endless antics.  At 2:00 we took a quick break for lunch and to run to the lighting store to get gels for the lights.  We also had to pick up beer for the cast party and lipstick for the final number.  This trip also included running home to re-record the CD because at the last minute they changed the order of the songs.  I also took a break for Sheila (one of the drag kings) to buzz my hair.  Then we were back to the theatre for more rehearsal including a run of the entire show.  This took about 2.5 hours and then it was home to shower have a c0uple of beers and take a break before the show.

The show started at 8:00, but somehow the theatre had advertised the time as 7:30 so by 6:45 there were lesbians lining up in the lobby to get in and save their seats.  By 7:30 the theatre was more than half full.  Obviously some of them either got the time right or are just very late for shows.  I spent the half hour before the show watching the girls get ready.  There’s nothing like watching girls bind themselves with adhesive bandages and stuff their pants with dildos.  I was drinking the whole time.  I should tell you at this point that at some time today, it was decided that I should run the show rather than just watch so with about 2 minutes notice I was told I was running sound and lighting for the show.  This should have been a sign to stop drinking but I ignored it.

At 8:06 the show started.  The house lights dimmed.  The music started.  The stage lights came up.  The two new drag kings danced their way downstage.  I reached over to the sound deck to eject the preshow CD and put in the CD for the rest of the show and by mistake turned the CD player off.  Whoops.  The theatre went silent.  DAMN!  DAMN!  DAMN!  Luckily without even thinking the girls left the stage and we started again.  I have to admit the rest of the show went off without a hitch.  But I was embarrassed as hell considering I am the professional.  The girls all thought it was funny but teased me all night about it.

So the show consisted of a Back Street Boys tribute.   A Full Monty strip number.  A guest appearance by Tina Turner.  Endless Love sung by a farm boy and a sheep.  And Personal Jesus’s being sold to us by a salesman.  The night was hysterically funny.  The audience loved it.  The final number though was the best.  The thing about drag kings is that most of them are butch.  In fact all of these girls are butch.  But for the finale, they came out in full FEM drag and performed Bootylicious.  The crowd lost it and were out of control.  It was amazing.

After the show we were off to Sheila’s house to celebrate.  This consisted of drinking way TOO many beers.  I lost count at 6.  I got home at around 1:30.  Called my friend Todd who knew instantly I was drunk and started laughing at me.  We talked about 2 minutes because he was out with friends and the next thing I knew it was Saturday morning.

The rest of the trip and pictures tomorrow.

5 thoughts on “It’s a drag…

  1. Daniel May 6, 2007 / 22:05

    What a hoot! I love the bit about the farm boy serenading his ovine lover.

    Sheep actually have really poor hygiene habits. Don’t ask me how I know.

  2. Tom May 7, 2007 / 04:49

    Sounds like way too much fun… Glad you had a great weekend in Maine… Mine was spent working (booo-hoooo)…

  3. urspo May 7, 2007 / 21:49

    I am shocked and dismayed to see you actually enjoying yourself. This has got to stop now before it leads to social dancing. Get back to Iowa as soon as you can and repent.

  4. Donnie May 8, 2007 / 19:24

    I’m SO glad to hear that you had a good time up there in Maine. I wonder how long it is before we see this show posted on YouTube??

Leave a Reply

