Snow White and the bad mood…

calvin-bad-mood.gifI’m in a bad mood tonight.  I don’t know why.  It’s not like anything happened, or someone said something, or anything else for that matter.  It just is.  And that’s all.  And how is this mood manifesting itself.  Well I just sent off a rather terse email about a student at school.  He’s been a pain in the ass since day one, although I don’t have him in my class.  Today though, I got an email from his professor wanting to know why the information (let’s call him Jack) needs for a project hasn’t been sent to him yet.  It could be because Jack hasn’t asked for it.  It also could be that before I send him the information I think I should discuss it with him.  But I think Jack would rather have his arm cut off than actually have a conversation with me.  He actually won’t speak to me, unless I speak to him first, which I find bothersome.  But what annoys me the most is that the rest of the faculty allows him to behave this way.  The tolerate it and write if off as “he’s just that way.”  If someone would sit him down and explain to him that he doesn’t get to treat people this way, and if he does there are consequences I think it would stop.  But I have to remember that I’m only here for 19 more days and who am I to try and change things.

A couple of people have requested to know what the title of the show is that I am doing.  It’s actually a dance show with three pieces in it.  The first piece is choreographed by a student and designed by a student.  The second piece is choreographed by the dance faculty and designed by me.  The third piece is choreographed by a guest choreographer and designed by me.  The show is quite good and I don’t always like dance.  The works are thought provoking and meaningful.  The dance by the faculty choreographer is about grief and is very moving.  During rehearsals there were a night I was almost brought to tears by the significance of the dance.  It was the night of the Virginia Tech shooting and on the same day a student on my campus was discovered dead.  So the amount of sorrow and grief in the room was much greater than normal and the dance held much more importance.

images-35.jpgThe third piece I designed is a dance that retells the story of Snow White.  The story is told through text and movement and uses bits of the story from the Grimm’s fairytale as well as moments from the Disney version.  It’s rather dark and ominous.   The show is amazing and the choreographer was wonderful to work with.  She allowed me to think outside the box and I was able to embrace the space as an environment for the show.  I lit the architecture of the theatre, including the ceiling, the I-beams, the walls and the supports.  By embracing these elements we were able to find a voice for the rest of the piece and the rest of the design flowed out of that.   A guy from school took pictures on Wednesday night.  If any of them are any good  I’ll post them next week.

4 thoughts on “Snow White and the bad mood…

  1. urspo April 27, 2007 / 23:32

    go have a hot bath and then eat a half gallon of haagen daz. that should help.

  2. KipEsquire April 28, 2007 / 04:59

    Looking forward to the pictures. 🙂

  3. Donnie April 28, 2007 / 17:24

    Ugh….one of “those” students, huh? I’ve had my share of them in the past. I wouldn’t even bother……you would talk & talk til you’re blue in the face, and it wouldn’t matter to him.

    I agree…a hot soaking bath listening to some soothing music…followed by a guilty food.

  4. Condoblogger April 29, 2007 / 07:40

    Thanks for filling us in on the show. Sounds fascinating. Now I have to ask a really stupid question… when you say that you “designed” the show… what does that mean exactly? I gather that it involves the lighting I think.

Leave a Reply

