Another Openin’, Another Show

The show I’ve been working on opened tonight to rave reviews.  In fact, based on the comments I was receiving you would have thought I was someone famous.  The accolades were many.  I was told more than once that I would have to come back and design for them again.  At one point the tech director turned to the chair and told her there was no way I was leaving without signing a contract to do more shows.  The costume designer basically said that I was too good to waste my time in Iowa.  All of this a mere three days after they let me know in an email they weren’t hiring me.  Hmmm.  How do you think they would have responded if I’d actually gotten the job.

I do have to admit, all of this praise feels good, but it doesn’t negate the fact that I’m good enough to design for them just not good enough to teach their students.  I’m not sure how I feel about that.  The situation is made even more interesting because I managed to get approval for a student to design one of the pieces tonight and it’s the first time in years that a student has designed mainstage.  The chair of the department turned to me at intermission with nothing but praise about the students work, not realizing that it was a student’s design.  When I told her, she brushed it off as if I must have done all the work, which is far from the truth.  The way I see it, I did my job and taught a student enough about lighting, to design her own show.   Maybe I’m not such a bad teacher after all.

I’m also worried that my friend Stefan didn’t find my post yesterday funny.  If you didn’t…I’m sorry.  Please call me so that I can apologize in person and know that you have been mentioned in my blog for the very last time.

Have a great Friday.

Only 20 more days till I hit the road, Jack.

5 thoughts on “Another Openin’, Another Show

  1. digitaltsquare April 27, 2007 / 07:56

    congratulations! not only on the show, but for surviving your stay in Iowa. Twenty more days–you can do it!

  2. Pete April 27, 2007 / 10:29

    I am so glad you won them over with the show and taught the student. I am sure the student was filed with pride to know what a good job they had done. Only 20 more days to go Woo Hoo!

  3. Condoblogger April 27, 2007 / 10:38

    That’s GREAT!!! I know you are trying to lay sort of low, but I’d love to know what show it is/was…

  4. urspo April 27, 2007 / 10:43

    indeed congratulations
    makes you want to reconsider staying in Iowa, no?

  5. Donnie April 28, 2007 / 17:20

    Congrats on the show, Maddog! *big bear hug*

Leave a Reply

