A rose by any other name…

So I slept in this morning and skipped my faculty meeting. Not a single person mentioned my not being there. I think they knew that since I’m not going to be working here next year, and since it was 8:00 a.m. in the morning, and since I can’t really vote nor have an opinion on anything there wasn’t much need to be there. I do however, get the feeling someone mentioned how I was notified I wasn’t getting the job. I’ve talked to a number of people who are in the business world and they have all been amazed that I was told in an email. All of them, and these are high level executives who hire and fire everyday, agree that the chair should have picked up the phone and told me in person. Instead, it was a very impersonal email, that had the all the personality of a rock. It was as if she had never met me, let alone had an office across the hall from me for three months.

careergirl.gifThe reason I think someone said something today at the faculty meeting was because late this afternoon I received an email from her asking if we could talk about it. I think if she had wanted to talk about it, she would have mentioned it in the first email. In truth I have no desire to meet and talk. There’s nothing she’s going to say that’s not going to piss me off. There are so many things wrong with the system here. There have been people forced out of their jobs, students who are allowed to dictate to faculty how they should be treated, and one woman who single handily makes everyone she comes in contact with miserable and she’s been in the department for 20 plus years. I’ve know since day one, that I was not a good fit for the school. The only reason I interviewed for the job was because I was asked to. And the only reason I wanted it, is because as of right now nothing else has come along yet. And the way I see it, it’s better to have a job you don’t like than no job at all. I’ll let you know if we finally talk.

On a different note. There are two people in my life who know about my blog. My friend Todd and my friend Scott (not his real name). A couple of weeks ago I mentioned Scott in a post. Today he told me that he didn’t want to me to mention him in my blog again. He wanted his personal life to be just that. Personal. I didn’t think anything about it when I mentioned him in my blog. I assumed since no one knows who I am then know one knows who he is. I said this to him today. But he was adamant that I not discuss him. So although I don’t really agree with him, I do see his side of the argument. And besides I care too much about him to do anything to alienate him, hurt his feelings or make him mad at me. Especially on purpose. So I told him tonight that I would only talk about him when I have to or if it’s not personal and that I would no longer refer to him by his real name but use the pretend name Scott, or Doug, or Chad, or Jason, or James, or Ed, or Victor, or Mike, or Kevin, or Steven, or Tom, or Erik, or David, or Jesse, or Brad, or Kevin, or Tony, or Ashton, or Trevor, or Daniel, or Lee, or Pierre, or Louis, or John, or Tim, or Keith, or Richard, or Matt, or Sean, or Kelly, or Jay, or Pete, or…well I’m running out of names. But you get the point. its_a_boy.jpg

4 thoughts on “A rose by any other name…

  1. Sean April 26, 2007 / 13:06

    Hey. Don’t mention me by name! Well, actually, I’m an attention whore, so if you could just slip my name into every blog you write from now on. I’d be VERY grateful *wink*

  2. Jack Hampster April 27, 2007 / 15:57

    And what about me ” JACK ” I could use a mention too…

    lol

  3. Donnie April 28, 2007 / 17:18

    I don’t know of anyone I’ve ever written about in my blog who has ever complained. You’d think this person wouldn’t mind….especially since you’re not actually posting his photo, real name, SSN, or other pertinent info.

    “Methinks thou dost protest too much”

Leave a Reply

