Saturday in Iowa…

It’s Saturday night and I’m just sitting at home watching TV wishing the weekend weren’t half over. Where did the day go?

Thanks for all the birthday wishes. I actually had an okay day. My students brought me cupcakes at my 8:00 class and homemade pecan pie to my 10:00 class. They were very sweet the students…not the desserts. My 8:00 class was tired and crazy because their drafting project was due and most of them had waited until the last minute so they were in the design studio until very late. By the time they got to class they were very slap-happy making stupid jokes and giggling at everything. Here’s a picture of my students standing on a table in our classroom. img_0028.jpg

After class, I spent the afternoon in the theatre focusing lights. It’s where I stand on the stage and have my crew point lighting instruments where I want them. In a professional world we would have been able to finish in about 4 hours. It took 12 hours to do it at school. I was working with the students from my class who had never focused before. They were VERY slow, but I kept reminding myself that’s why we’re here–to teach them.

After the work day, I ran home to get dinner. I remembered on my way home I had no food there, so I stopped for a birthday dinner at Hardees. It was either that or Taco John’s and neither of them seem to fit the bill but I went with Hardee’s. Trust me, it was not the nicest birthday dinner I’ve ever had. Then it was back to school for several hours of rehearsal. I think I got home at 11:30 p.m. It was a very long day. Unfortunately with my busy day, I missed most of the calls I had from friends wishing me happy birthday. What’s really funny is that most of them thought I was out celebrating, when in fact I was at school working.

That was my birthday in Iowa. It wasn’t the best birthday I’ve had but by far it wasn’t the worst. And it wasn’t disappointing because it’s exactly what I had expected. Who knows if there will be more birthdays in Iowa.

4 thoughts on “Saturday in Iowa…

  1. Cincy Diva April 15, 2007 / 07:55

    next time you come thru Covington, I’ll take you for a birthday dinner at the Anchor Grill! Hehehehe

  2. brian finch April 15, 2007 / 10:15

    Happy belated birthday! I hope it’s nicer and warmer in NYC than up here in Toronto, it’s still slash my wrists weather here.

  3. Donnie April 15, 2007 / 17:32

    That looks like a good class pic (punch-drunk or not). Congrats on the goodies from the kids.

    WooHoo! A birthday dinner at Hardee’s. My arteries are clogging just hearing about it. I avoid the Hardee’s here like the plague.

    Hope you had a good Sunday, Maddog. 😀

Leave a Reply

