20 Degrees and Hiding from the Mob!

Will someone please remind the person in charge of the weather that it’s April and so the weather should be getting warmer. The high here yesterday was in the low 20’s. The high today was in the high 20’s, low 30’s. It’s too fucking cold for this time of the year. And now everything’s dead. The daffodils are leaning over in frozen heaps and the tulips aren’t much better. I’m sure that none of them will bloom now.

And to make matters absolutely worse: I left the insulated liner to my winter coat in NYC when I returned to Iowa. It was in the 60’s and it was April. I thought for sure I’d be done with it. So I have frozen my behind off this past week walking to work. Luckily I’m off till Tuesday so I’m going to stay wrapped up on my colonial recliner and hibernate.

house2.jpg

On a different note, a about 18 months ago I signed up for MySpace. My site is very basic. It’s listed under my name, with a photo of a show I designed, and it gives general stats. I have no interest in making it better and don’t spend much time even checking to see what’s there. In fact I hadn’t been on the site in at least a couple of months when I got a notice today that “Greg” wanted to be my friend. I had no idea who this Greg was but I thought I’d check it out. I fully expected it to be some 12 year old wanting me to be his “friend.” Turns out it was a friend from college. A fraternity brother in fact, although we were friends before he joined. I accepted him as my friend and sent him a quick message asking him to call. It’s been years since we’ve talked but it would be great to catch up. I’ll keep you posted.

So while on MySpace I noticed there was a red flag that I had new messages. Once again I was fully expecting it to be a 12 year old girl wanting to be my “friend.” (As a disclaimer here, I have no interest in 12 year old girls or boys, just in case “someone” does a Google search and is led to my blog.) There were a series of messages from people wanting me to join their singles groups and two messages from KC with a picture of her scuba diving. Before I deleted the KC messages, on a whim I clicked on one to see what it was about. What would you know? Another old friend. This one from high school. KC (Kim) and I haven’t talked in forever. It’s been at least 20+ years. In fact I remember the last time I saw her. She was driving a truck with the initials KC on the front. I sent her a quick message as well and she has already emailed me back. I’ll respond to her email tomorrow when I’m more awake and have to time to think about what I’m writing. Not like when I’m writing here.

The internet has been a wonderful tool for putting me back in touch with old friends. This is the sixth person in the last 7 or 8 months that’s found me from MySpace or Friendster. I’m kind of glad I signed up now. Of course if I was in the Witness Protection Program for turning State’s Evidence against some sort of Mobster Family with a boss called Uncle Chuck then I’d probably not have wanted to sign up. But since I’m not really hiding out, it’s been great being found by these people.

By the way the picture is of my living room in Iowa. This is the real estate company’s idea of furnished. A colonial recliner (thank God it reclines), an end table and a couple of lamps. Not even anything to put the TV on. I’ve been here for 3 months and it still looks the same although I did find this horrible table thing to hold the TV. Six weeks and counting!

3 thoughts on “20 Degrees and Hiding from the Mob!

  1. urspo April 5, 2007 / 22:17

    I notice this correlation of you going to Iowa (LOG) and the temperature plummeting. is this cause and effect? or effect and cause?
    It is a nasty midwest trick, to keep bringing back winter right up to Memorial Day.

  2. sortedlives April 6, 2007 / 03:44

    and I wonder why I don’t miss living in the midwest?? Have a great weekend!

  3. Tom April 6, 2007 / 04:16

    Don’t feel bad, the temps plummeted here in VA too… Fortunately our daffodils and tulips were done blooming, and the begonias I bought are still in the flats in the garage… So much for putting the rag top down (for the time being). Have a great weekend. Oh and your “furnished” apartment looks like shit… hehehe

Leave a Reply

