Danger High Voltage!

warning-electricity-2.gif

I’ve spent the last 30 minutes trying to figure out how to explain electricity to college freshmen tomorrow. I don’t have to go into terrible detail. Mostly I have to explain how they should avoid electrocuting themselves and how to figure out how many things can be plugged into one circuit before you’ll trip the breaker. That’s about it. I’ve taught the class a million times before. The catch tonight is that I’m fried. I spent 10 hours at school today drafting. I have drawings due for a design I’m doing and I was supposed to do them over break. However, I just couldn’t force myself to sit down and do them in NYC. And then I was going to start them yesterday but I slept 15 hours straight. So today, I got to school around noon and worked until almost 9:00. Without taking any significant breaks. I would run to the restroom and get another Diet Coke and then I’d be back at it. So now when I look at my computer my eyes cross. Tomorrow, will in fact be worse. When I leave tomorrow night, the drawings need to be in the shop so that the TD can start hanging the show on Wednesday. In fact, at the rate I was moving today, it might just be an all-nighter. Which isn’t supposed to happen when you are the teacher. Is it?

So what is the difference between Amps and Volts? I guess I should do a little refreshing on that before I try to explain it in the morning. Did I mention how much I love teaching. Hmmm.

Update:  I just finished teaching my class.  It went worse than any other class this semester.  The students were all over the place having just come back from Spring Break.  I was all over the place having just come back from Spring Break.  I also wasn’t as prepared as I would have like to have been and only got about 4 hours of sleep.  All of this made for a bad class.  After 90 minutes of struggling, I said what the hell and dismissed them.  I’ll do a quick review during my next class to make sure I didn’t completely confuse them with the information.  Ugh.

4 thoughts on “Danger High Voltage!

  1. eric April 3, 2007 / 11:43

    It’s times like this that I think you’d agree with me: independent wealth can be a good thing.

  2. Donnie April 3, 2007 / 14:47

    Oh….been there, done that. Sometimes the days just before and just after a break (like this week…we have Spring Break starting on Friday) are totally useless…for both students and us instructors.

    Hang in there, maddog! *big hug*

  3. sortedlives April 3, 2007 / 19:27

    Great chatting with you this afternoon. Glad you had a restful break and got to see some sights. Take care my friend!

  4. urspo April 3, 2007 / 22:15

    i recall amps and volts are related to each other in a formula with something else – what?

Leave a Reply

