Home again, home again, jiggety-jog.

I’m back in NYC. I arrived here around 4:00 this afternoon. The trip back was far less eventful than the trip up. I came back a different way and it cut about an hour and a half off the trip. Needless to say, I was kicking myself for not listening to Mapquest in the first place. I guess that’s what I get for thinking that I’m smarter than the computer. Won’t let that happen again.

So let’s see what’s been going on. Maine was wonderful. Spent two days just being lazy and hanging out. I did some shopping. I spent most of the afternoon on Monday looking for a new digital camera. I think I figured out what happened to my old one. The guy at Best Buy seemed to think that I had sat on it. Which is entirely possible. I had been carrying it around in my coat pocket and it’s a definite possibility that at some point I sat on my camera. After much looking, and talking, and thinking, and deliberating I ultimately decided to buy the same camera I had in the first place. The sales help at Sears was the best and since everyone has the same price that’s where I bought it.

We also made a quick trip to Freeport to go the L.L. Bean store. I was looking for a pair of shoes that they were out of when I visited in December. Unfortunately I discovered that they are now only carried in the catalog and not in the store, so if I decide to get them, I’ll have to order them from online.

We also went to the movies. We saw The Shooter. I love me some Marky Mark….hmmmmm. He only killed about 250 people in the movie including a U.S. Senator. Of course the Senator deserved it, but there were one or two people who probably didn’t. It was interesting premise based on a conspiracy to assassinate a dignitary from Ethiopia. The crime is then blamed on Mark Wahlberg who spends the rest of the movie trying to prove his innocents. It’s intense and violent and a fun way to spend the afternoon.

Michelle, Lisa (her girlfriend) and I also went to the theatre last night. We saw Intimate Apparel at the Portland Stage Company. It was a great production and I love any chance to see live theatre. We finished up my trip by having breakfast at Big Mama’s Diner this morning. Then we said our goodbyes and I was on my way.

I had a great time. It was a little sad when I left because I knew that I wouldn’t see Michelle again for at least 6 or 7 months because of my schedule. Of course the nice thing is that no matter how long we go without seeing each other, it’ll be like we’ve never been apart when we see each other next. That’s why we’re best friends.

5 thoughts on “Home again, home again, jiggety-jog.

  1. Gavin March 29, 2007 / 07:07

    We always vacationed in Old Orchard Beach when I was growing up. Fond memories, and I think I still have some sea shells I gathered as my treasure.

  2. eric March 29, 2007 / 10:15

    Fantastic! I miss Maine. I think it’s gorgeous and, if it weren’t even colder than NYC’s worst days all winter, I’d be very content living there.

  3. Cincy Diva March 29, 2007 / 15:37

    I’ve never been to Maine, but I been to Oklahoma.
    I think there’s a song there somewhere
    I really can’t remember

  4. Tom March 29, 2007 / 15:55

    Glad you had fun…. How long are you in the city before you leave for home?

    Have a great visit, and relax a little….

    Tom

  5. Donnie March 31, 2007 / 15:35

    I’d love to visit Maine one of these days. Maybe even do some stalking of Stephen King. LOL

    Glad to hear you had fun up there and are having fun in NYC.

Leave a Reply

