Maine–The Way Life Ought To Be!

I drove to Maine today.  It was the longest drive of the trip so far.  It should have taken 5.5 hours and it took almost 8.  My average speed for the first two hours was about 7 miles per hour.   The traffic was insane in NYC.  And the drivers are crazy.  They switch lanes without warning, whether there’s space or not.  At one point an inpatient car was driving on the left-hand shoulder of the highway.  Then there were the motorcyclists going about 85 when everyone else was sitting still.  It was very nerve wracking.

Of course things didn’t get any better once I got out of NYC.  The drivers outside the city favored slower speeds despite the fact the speed limit was 65 miles per hour.  I passed a ton of cars going around 55, and breaking every so often.  I often think the slower drivers are more dangerous than the fast ones.  At least the speeders are moving.  Today I was driving along and the person in front of me would break for no reason.  It was also nerve wracking.

And then there was Connecticut.  As someone who has driven across the country many, many times.  Hands down Conncecticut is the worst state to drive in.  First the exits are not illuminated in anyway.  They are just dark voids in the abyss.  Second, they conveniently don’t have the signs saying McDonald’s, Wendy’s, and Burger King at this exit.  They have little symbols indicating this exit has gas, food and lodging.  What they don’t tell you is that when you get off the highway you’ll have to drive ten miles to find it.  At one exit I drove along trying to follow the signs and got dumped back on I-95 going south.  At another exit I got off only to discover there was not an entrance back on going north.  It took 4 attempts to find an exit with gas.  Of course the gas cost a million dollars a gallon and only served Diet Pepsi.  So I got gas and thought I would go to the McDonald’s next door for Diet Coke.  But guess what they were out of Diet Coke.  Fuck!

This meant that I had to venture off the highway again for a drink.  Before you tell me I’m silly.  One of the nice things about traveling by yourself is that you can stop when you want, where you want, why you want.  And I MUST have Diet Coke from a fountain in the car while I drive.  Luckily for me, I crossed the state line into Rhode Island and I was saved.

The rest of the trip was without incident and I finally arrived around midnight.  I’ll be here until Wednesday.  Oh, and if you guys are wondering why I haven’t posted any pictures of my trip it’s because my relatively new digital camera has bitten the dust.  The screen is a mixture of nonsense images of different colors.  I’m hoping to get to Best Buy tomorrow to get a new one.  If I do, I’ll post some pictures of Maine.

Have a great week.

7 thoughts on “Maine–The Way Life Ought To Be!

  1. kellystern March 26, 2007 / 05:39

    I am like you… I have to stop and refill Diet Coke (hate Pepsi) and like to stop when I want. I hate travelling with those who like to drive straight through only stopping for gas from time to time… of course they hate driving with me cause I like to stop in little towns along the way to see the locals (and usually make fun of them).. have a safe trip and good luck with camera, we want pics!!

  2. DWQ Online March 26, 2007 / 06:41

    Glad you made it okay. Can’t wait to see picture.

  3. eric March 26, 2007 / 14:56

    I love Maine. I think it’s gorgeous and, in a sign that I’m increasingly becoming “that old homo,” I just told my BF how nice it would be to go spend a week driving around all the little villages in Maine.

  4. Pete March 26, 2007 / 20:51

    I am glad you made it there. I agree with you on Conn. Have fun in up there.

  5. urspo March 26, 2007 / 22:38

    being a midwesterner, the notion of driving around New England sounds daunting at least.

  6. brian finch March 28, 2007 / 06:43

    I’ve never taken a trip in that part of your country, I’d like to one of these days!

  7. Dude!Donnie March 28, 2007 / 14:12

    Glad to hear you made it safely up to Maine. I’m one of those drivers who just wants to get to my destination as quickly as possible, without “dilly-dalying”. 😀

    Have a great time, maddog.

Leave a Reply

