Matchmaker, Matchmaker!

The following is an exchange I had today with my cousin Vickie. I haven’t spoken with her in months and suddenly through my mom I found out that she needed to talk to me. I had no idea what it was about and planned to call her tonight, but she found me on-line today and this is what was said:

V: are you here
Maddog: No, I am here.
V: lol
V: now i have a question for you
M: I’m in NYC if that’s what you are asking.
V: no
V: i know where you are
M: I’ve been out the last two nights so haven’t been able to call, was going to call tonight.
M: what’s the question.
V: are you single
M: LOL
M: are you trying to fix me up with someone?
V: no kidding

V: yes
M: yes, why do you ask?
V: i want you to meet someone
M: who might that be?
V: his name is H.

M: where does he live?
V: now that could be a problem
M: I see.

V: new mexico
M: why do you want to fix us up?
M: how do you know him?
V: because he is a great person
V: i worked with him
M: what do we do about the fact that we live 2,000 miles away from each other.
V: i dont know about all that yet
V: but id you two agree
V: you can work that out
M: is this what the phone call was about?
V: yes
M: and I thought you wanted me to go to Vegas with you.
V: he is from texas
M: so can i work on this

This went on for about 3o minutes with her trying to fix me up with her friend. There are a number of reasons this is ridiculous. First I don’t know if I trust her taste. Her choice of husbands (yes, 3 in fact) have not been the best. Second, he lives on the other side of the country. It will make having a first date rather difficult. Third, it scares me she even thought of me. I’ve only ever had one conversation with her about being gay. It was 3 summers ago at a 4th of July family picnic. The entire conversation was about Kenny Chesney being gay and how I would like it if he was. That was it. Haven’s spoken with her about it again.

I do have to admit that I agreed to email him and just say hello. I figured what the hell. What could it hurt. I don’t expect it to go anywhere but if it’ll make her happy then what the hell. So I sent off a simple hello email today, said hello and left it at that. He emailed back and said hello. I’ll keep you posted on the eventual outcome.

You gotta love my family!

6 thoughts on “Matchmaker, Matchmaker!

  1. Ur-spo March 21, 2007 / 23:09

    i think it is rather sweet of her.
    give it a try. NM is wonderful. Not like Iowa though.

  2. kellystern March 22, 2007 / 05:08

    New Mexico…it’s not old… hehehe… what can it hurt to have another email pal… and usually those who have the worst choice in partners for themselves, usually do a better job of picking partners for thier friends… I mean, what else are you going to do the last few months in Iowa?? Happy Thursday!

  3. Tom March 22, 2007 / 05:22

    I agree with Kelly, nothing ventured/nothing gained…

    and Happy Thursday to you too!!!

    Love ya
    Tom

  4. David Quinn March 22, 2007 / 06:42

    Happy Thurdsay. Who dates a guy named “H”. They should give him a real name was Howard, Hank, Harmony, or something instead of just H.

    LOL

  5. Donnie March 22, 2007 / 07:46

    Hey, look at it this way…at least she thought of you. And like everyone else has already said…if nothing else, you’ll have another email pal. šŸ™‚

    Every so often, a student will ask me what my “type” is. Invariably, they know of a gay guy and think they should play matchmaker.

  6. Gavin March 22, 2007 / 12:05

    Go for it! Who says he won’t want to move to NYC? My best friend keeps trying to fix me up with her doctor. I think she’s trying to find a way to get me to move 3000 miles back to CA. Hey, I did it once for a man 20 years ago. Never say never.

Leave a Reply

