Spring is in the air….

As many of you suggested, I just need to hold out a little longer and spring will be here. In fact that appears to be true. It’s 52 degrees in Iowa today. Perhaps the cold weather, snow and ice are behind us and the warm weather will be here to stay. Of course, with the warm weather comes the melting of the snow and now everything is a beautiful brown color, mixed with faded greens and mud. Don’t get me wrong I’m not complaining. It’s just that yesterday I took a misstep and sunk to my ankles in mud. I realize of course it won’t be forever and before you know everything will be a brilliant green and the crocus and tulips will be in full bloom. I just need to hang on to my faith that winter is NOT always present in Iowa.

images-23.jpg

Speaking of spring, Spring Break for me starts on Friday. Yippppeee!!!! I can hardly wait. I’m headed east back to NYC. In fact my classes on Thursday are finished at 10:50 a.m. and I plan to be in my car by 10:52. And yes, you heard me correctly car. I’m driving to NYC. And no I’m not crazy. As it turns out it’s cheaper and will allow me more flexibility for my trip.

As many of you know, I sold my car last summer when I moved to NYC. You don’t really need a car when you can take the subway everywhere you need to go. I was able to get a good price for it and I was on my way. Little did I know 4 months later I would need a car again. However, I was assured when I discussed coming to Iowa that the little town I’d be living in was small enough to get around without a car. It’s only about 2 miles wide by 2 miles wide. Most everything is centrally located in the downtown area except for the Wal-mart which is out by the highway. So I arrived in Iowa in January and and have been on foot ever since. It’s true that you can get by without a car except for some small inconveniences which no one tells you about.

The biggest inconvenience is getting to the airport. It’s an hour by car and there’s no “car service” to pick you up and drop you off, so it’s a little tricky to get there. It’s also not convenient for anyone to agree to take you so you are left trying to figure out how to get there. For me the answer has been to rent a car. There is one car rental place near by that has an agreement with the college. You can pick the car up here and drop it off here. Unfortunately, you have to pay for it.

So to get to and from the airport is more than 100 dollars. If you add to that the 350-400 dollars for the plane ticket you’ve already reached a price of more than 500 dollars. Add to that the 50 or so dollars each way to get to and from the airport in NYC and suddenly your are well over 600 dollars for the entire trip. I would have been happy to do this, but a friend of mine who knows that I don’t mind driving suggested I look into renting the car and just driving to NYC. I thought he was crazy and that it would cost a fortune to rent a car for more than two weeks. But I did some research and found a car through an Internet sight for 68 dollars a week. For the entire time it was only 200.08. That’s quite a savings if you ask me.

I discussed this option with a number of people before I finally decided that driving was the way to go. In fact at one point not only was I going to drive I was even contemplating driving to the west coast. But in the end NYC won out. I leave on Thursday right after class and am driving to Kentucky to see my mom. It’ll make her happy and it breaks up the trip. I’ll spend Friday and Saturday with her and then leave Sunday morning for NYC.

The drive to Kentucky is about 10 hours and the drive to NYC is about 12 hours. Not a bad days drive and it can be fun. I’ll crank up the music and enjoy the time by myself. On Sunday night I’ll get to sleep in my own queen sized bed, and for the first time in two months won’t have to worry about turning over and falling out of my twin sized bed.

I’ll spend a week in NYC and then the following weekend will drive to Portland, Maine to see my best friend Michelle. She and her girlfriend Lisa are trying to have a baby and by the time I get there they should know if there is a possibility of this happening. I’ll spend a couple of days there, drive back to NYC, spend a couple of more days there and then return to Iowa on March 30th.

Not a bad two week vacation if I don’t say so myself. I’ll take lot’s of pictures and post along the way to keep you guys on top of where I am and what I am doing.

So yes, it appears that spring is in the air and it’s not a moment too soon.

8 thoughts on “Spring is in the air….

  1. Pete March 11, 2007 / 19:39

    Nice to hear the weather is chaning. Have a safe trip and enjoy yourself.

  2. urspo March 11, 2007 / 20:46

    indeed not a moment too soon
    BTW – spring lasts about a week in the midwest; then summer bakes you.

  3. Tom March 12, 2007 / 08:43

    We want lots of pictures! Have a great trip!

    Spring has definately Sprung here in VA too… I can tell from the cold I got! I always get a cold at the first sign of spring… but fortunately, it’s usually over quickly!

  4. Kevin March 12, 2007 / 17:49

    What about the cost of parking the car in NYC for the time you are there? Won’t that cost over…say…oh, about a thousand dollars??? lol. Safe journeys!

  5. Donnie March 13, 2007 / 08:25

    Sounds like you made out like a bandit with the rental car. Drive safely and have a great time. Think about me while you’re on break…mine isn’t until April 6th.

  6. Condoblogger March 13, 2007 / 11:17

    Drive carefully and have a GREAT TRIP!

    What kind of car did you rent by the way? Something fun and sporty, or cute and economical, or big and fancy?

  7. Cincy Diva March 13, 2007 / 14:48

    Wave as you drive past the 12th Street exit in Covington!

Leave a Reply

